Chick Chat Friday – Chicken Soup

We blog about cooking, we talk about cooking, we instant message about cooking.   So what’s cooking with us?

 

Abigail:
So how gross is raw chicken?

 

Lis’Anne:
Extremely! No wonder Jimmie says he could easily be a vegan. :-

 

 

Abigail:
Wait – he doesn’t want to eat chicken?

Lis’Anne:
I have to try to find ways to disguise it so he doesn’t know exactly what he’s eating! LOL

Abigail:
He’s not the one cooking it.

Lis’Anne:
It doesn’t matter…he knows where it came from.

Abigail:
laugh

How did you make your soup?

 

Lis’Anne:
I winged it, as usual–no pun intended!

It looked like this when it was done:

 

I had about a gallon or so of broth left from the chicken I made last week for fajitas. I saved it in an ice cream bucket in the freezer.

 

Abigail:
A gallon? I’m lucky if I get a cup.

Wait – how big was the chicken?

 

Lis’Anne:
A cup!?

 

Abigail:
Is it just chicken juice, or did you marinate it in something else?

 

Lis’Anne:
I bought about 10 lbs. of chicken thigh/leg quarters on sale for when they were on sale. 🙂 for .48 cents a lb.

I put them all in my big roasting pan, covered with water, sea salt, pepper, and onion powder then roasted in the oven for about 6 hrs.

The chicken was unbelievably tender. Yummo!

 

Abigail:
Mine was less than half the size, so I guess the cup vs. gallon makes sense.

 

Lis’Anne:
I strained the broth then when I partially dethawed it in the microwave I was able to lift the fat right off the top in nice solid pieces.

Did you freeze your broth?

 

Abigail:
No, I cooked the chicken and served the soup the next day. But I have frozen it before.

I used pepper/garlic/parsley to season and made it in the crock pot.

 

Lis’Anne:
I diced about 6 large carrots and 2 large onions. I didn’t have any celery so I threw in celery seed, kosher salt and pepper. I let it all cook in the Crock-Pot for about 4 hours before I put in a bag of curly egg noodles and a large can of diced chicken.

Here’s the before broth, chicken, and noodles:

All the chicken left from the fajitas was consumed within 2 days by the boys.

 

Abigail:
Yeah, they’ll do that.

 

Lis’Anne:
LOL!

 

Abigail:
So you put a lot of stuff in yours and I put barely anything in mine, and we both ended up with some pretty good soup!

 

Lis’Anne:
Since the chicken noodle soup was my very first time making it, I was surprised they all loved it.

 

Abigail:
…some of which I just burned my tongue on. Ow.

Oh, good for you!

 

Lis’Anne:
YAY for us! Boo for burning your tongue. 😦

You actually have some left?  Dr. Drums finished ours off yesterday after school.

 

Abigail:
I just made it yesterday. And only the sick people in the house are eating it.  After I made the crock pot chicken, I deboned it and put the skin and bones back in the crock along with four cups of water.  Which sounds really gross.  It was really gross.

Cooked it on high for an hour, then strained it and put it in the fridge. Next day, I skimmed all the fat off the top, made some orzo, and voila!

Ironically, I forgot to put some actual chicken in it when I served it. laugh

 

Lis’Anne:
That’s what Miranda told me to do, but my broth ended up being pretty rich without having to.

 

Abigail:
… who’s Miranda? Oh, from the faire?

 

Lis’Anne:
LOL! No chicken! Too funny… 😀
Hello? Scooter’s wife!

Abigail:
Right. 🙂

 

Lis’Anne:
Yep. We talked food and couponing non-stop.

 

I haven’t eaten anything yet today and all this food talk is making me hungry.

 

Abigail:
I’d invite you over here for some soup, but we’re all sick.

Lis’Anne:
Nooooo thank you! Down with the sickness!

Do you make your own soup?  Share with us how you do it!

6 thoughts on “Chick Chat Friday – Chicken Soup

    • We are fun! Come hang with us! *laugh*

      If there’s a recipe you want to try but are scared to, let us know. I’m sure one of us can be talked into trying it out first.

  1. Most soup I eat comes from a can except when when someone in the house has a cold. Then we make a fresh garlic and basil soup.

    Add some fresh mushrooms, a chicken bouillon cube, and noodles and you’ve got a yummy, homeopathic cold remedy!

Leave a Reply

