Did you know this? The Garlic Whap

Ainsley studied the garlic , not sure what to do.  She picked at the thin covering.  That paper stuff was really stuck on. From Who Wants to Marry a Cowboy? by Abigail Sharpe (Did we mention?  Lis’Anne and I are both romance writers.)

Whenever I used garlic cloves in a recipe, I would cut off the tips and peel the skin off by hand.  It was tough to grab the paper-thin covering and it took an annoyingly long amount of time.

Fast forward to Rachael Ray.  During one of her 30-Minute Meals shows, she lay a clove of garlic on her cutting board and whapped it with a knife.

Epiphany.

Peeling a Garlic Clove

Separate the clove from the rest of the bunch.  I probably wouldn’t whap more than two at a time, but I suppose you could if you wanted.

Place the garlic on the cutting board.

Lay the flat part of your knife blade on the garlic.

Give the blade a good whap with the palm of your hand.

Pick up the clove and separate it from the skin.  Done.

Did you know this?  When did you learn it?

10 thoughts on “Did you know this? The Garlic Whap

  1. That Rachel is a brilliant little chick! I learned the whap from her, too. 🙂 I also love her scrap/trash bowl idea. It sure saves time and effort when cleaning up the mess of preparing a meal.

    I’m off to bed now. That ChaCha-ing exhausted me and it is almost 1:30a.m. *grin*

  2. Hi Abigail! I started really cooking with garlic a lot the past few years. Now I love it. It was tricky though at first. Great knife by the way. My favorite one has a big flat surface like yours. To whack it! Thanks for the tip, la la sis!

    • You know what I love? Cutting the top of a …. wow, I don’t know what a bunch of garlic is called. Anyway, cutting the top off a bunch of garlic, wrapping it in tinfoil, and letting it roast for an hour, then spreading it on rosemary bread like it’s butter. YUMMMMMMM.

  3. I’ve seen this done but never tried it. Then again, I’m the only one in the house who likes garlic, but I have a recipe for roast beef that calls for slices of garlic shoved into the roast itself–OMG, it’s amazing!–and that’s about the only time I get to play with my favorite vegetable. 🙂 So it’s that easy? Hmm. I might have to make a roast beef this weekend. Thanks!!

    • I don’t understand. Not like garlic? How does that happen???

      Your roast sounds amazing! Let me know how it turns out.

  4. Pingback: How to Peel a Whole Head of Garlic in 10 Seconds! | Chicklets in the Kitchen

  5. Pingback: Oniony Goodness – Did you know this? | Chicklets in the Kitchen

Leave a Reply

