Hoisin Sauce 2, Chicklets 0

What’s going on in my kitchen right now: Putting away groceries.

I owe Lis’Anne an apology.

After mocking the lack of hoisin sauce in her crab lo mein flop, I made an Asian stew.  Which called for hoisin sauce.

It started innocently enough.  I gathered all the ingredients, cut up the beef and veggies, put everything in the crock pot, and opened the sauce.  Only it didn’t look like sauce.  Instead, it resembled something that was kind of chunky solid.  I threw it out and made the stew anyway.

While it was edible… barely… it was definitely missing something.

I went to the grocery store later and bought two new jars of hoisin sauce.  I’m giving one to Lis’Anne when I see her tonight.  The other will be used when I resurrect the stew recipe.  Battle Hoisin Sauce is ON!

4 thoughts on “Hoisin Sauce 2, Chicklets 0

  1. Chunky? Solid? *laughing* I have no idea what it’s supposed to look like. One would assume a sauce would be smooth, but I opened a jar of Classico spaghetti sauce last night that was so chunky there was no sauce. It made for some really dry spaghetti. 😦

    I’m sorry your Asian stew didn’t live up to expectations. Thank you for thinking of me–now we can both see if it’s the missing link. 🙂

    • Hoisin sauce should be smooth, yes.

      Thing 2 hates chunky tomato stuff, so I can’t buy that kind of pasta sauce or use whole tomatoes in chili or anything. My favorite is vodka sauce. NOM NOM NOM.

  2. I love Hoisin sause. And the garlic chili paste? I make a mean pork medallian in a brown sugar, hoisin, garlic chili past and soy cooking sauce.

    Lynn

Leave a Reply

