Happy St. Patrick’s Day

We don’t have many traditions in my family – mostly because I’m too oblivious about what day it is – but I always seem to remember St. Patrick’s Day. And you know what that means – Corned Beef and Cabbage (and carrots and potatoes)!

I use my crock pot because I know it will be perfect and I don’t have to worry about over cooking or under cooking or forgetting the cooking. The meat is so good and tender and juicy, and I wonder why I don’t serve it more often.

If you are assembling the dish the night before, do NOT do it in the crock. The crock should start at room temperature when you’re heating it or it can crack. And then you’ll be without a crock pot. Use Tupperware instead.

You will need:

1 Corned Beef roast. My roast is about 2.25 lbs.
Potatoes
Cabbage
Whatever other veggies you want
Some water

Cut extra fat off your roast. Or not. Then season it. Or don’t. I was going to use a bit of garlic and black pepper, but ended up using a premade mix of seasonings and I don’t remember the contents. It looks like garlic, parsley, pepper, and sesame seeds, among other things.

Wash potatoes, carrots, and your other veggies. Cut the potatoes in half or quarters, depending on their size. I seasoned mine with rosemary, but doing nothing is fine, too.

Lay the veggies (BUT NOT THE CABBAGE) at the bottom of the crock. Put the corned beef on top with the fat side up. Pour in half a cup of water. Cover and cook on low for 7-10 hours. My crock cooks hot, so I’ll probably do it for six and keep it on warm the rest of the time.

An hour before the roast is done, put in the cabbage.

DONE! Enjoy your meal and happy eating!

What traditions do you keep?

5 thoughts on “Happy St. Patrick’s Day

  1. Excellent recipe. Thanks for sharing this post. I really enjoy reading your blog. Feel free to check out our recipes.

  2. This sounds awesome! How did it taste? I need some after pics. πŸ˜‰

    Even though my guys are part Irish, we don’t have any St. Patty’s day traditions. Just the normal Christian holiday feasts + must eat cabbage on New Year’s Day. πŸ™‚

    • OMG SO GOOD. *burp* No after pictures, though. 😦 Unless you want the insides of my tummy.

      Why do you eat cabbage on New Year’s?

      • I think I’ll pass on the pics of your gastrointestinal tract!

        I’m not sure from what country the tradition originates–maybe China?–but it’s something my family has done for decades for good luck in the new year. This last NYD I made some incredible cabbage rolls. No recipe; I winged it. Sure wish I’d written it down.

Leave a Reply

