Collard Greens

Can someone explain collard greens to me?

I grew up in Boston and never even heard of them until I moved to the south. They look tasty enough – kind of like spinach – but they always taste burned to me. Not only that, but I’ve never seen them cooked any way other than with a ton of bacon and a tub of butter. Doesn’t that kind of defeat the purpose of a healthy green?

It doesn’t help that I used to think they were pronounced colored greens. Like, they weren’t really green – they were just colored in. With a crayon. By a two year old.

Anyone have a way of cooking them that actually tastes good???

12 thoughts on “Collard Greens

  1. Try putting them in with corned beef or any other meat you’re boiling, much as you would cabbage. Add some onions and/or potatoes. My dad liked to put a little pepper sauce [green peppers in vinegar, I forget the brand] on top.

    I’ve NEVER put butter on them. Eew!

  2. You can try boiling them with ham hocks or smoked turkey wings or smoked neck bones.
    Add some chicken stock if you like. Some people find that chicken stock gives it a smoother taste.
    You can also put some thinly sliced onions and celery in the pot too.

    As some toppings you could use some hot peppers, vinegar, onions and vinegar (chopped onions and vinegar mixed together), small whole tomatoes.

    Really, its just what taste good to you.

    I’m still experimenting with different methods. So far nothing has jumped up and hit the spot for me, but I’m not giving up! LOL!

    • Thanks for the tips, Dalila!

      I’m not sure how I feel about adding meat to my veggies. I’m not a vegetarian, but … I dunno. Vegetables should remain vegetables. Know what I mean?

      Do you think I could use it as a base for a salad? But I’d still have to cook it, right?

  3. Yes, you still have to cook them. πŸ™‚

    Ok, not a problem, so just switch to veggie stock for flavor. No need to use chicken stock. You can also use just plain water.
    Add cruched garlic, chopped onion or diced onion, a bit of extra-virgen olive oil and your greens.
    No meat of any kind, maybe you’ll like this version.
    As I said, I’m still playing around with making collard greens, have to make my tummy happy! πŸ™‚

    • Ooh, good call using veggie stock.

      I guess now I have to make them, huh. πŸ™‚

      (and I make typos all the time. *grin*)

  4. Abigail–
    You never had soul food from the “Bury”? (That’s the Roxbury section of Boston for all you non-Sox & Celtics fans.)
    Here’s how I cook all greens (Red, also called ruby or rhubarb chard is my favorite): Cut off stems & wash at least 3 times. Drain & slice leaves about 1/2 inch wide.
    Saute over low heat as much garlic as you like in olive oil, but don’t let it get brown & bitter. Add greens (a bit of water still on them is good), throw in a handful of dried cranberries for color & flavor contrast. Cook covered for a few minutes (time depends on which greens you cook). Serve with a sprinkling of toasted pine nuts & crumbled goat cheese. Drizzle on some vinegar, which helps bring out the nutrients. Feel free to add, subtract or substitute any of the ingredients.
    –Suzanne

    • OMG, I love the thought of having cranberries in there!! And I have some, too. Never really cared much for rhubarb. What a good way to ruin a strawberry pie. πŸ™‚

      And I’m ashamed to say I never heard of the Bury, but as soon as I read it, I thought, HEY! That could be a nickname for Roxbury! *laugh* Thanks for stopping by, Suzanne!

Leave a Reply

