Fal-awful? Or Fala-fail?

*I* liked it. I was the only one.

The Husband I could have guessed. He doesn’t do other cultures very well (unless it’s Asian or Italian). But I could have bet Things 1 & 2 would like it! They love chick peas!

Ingredients. Most of ’em, anyway

But no. And now I have a ton of falafel for leftovers only I will eat. Not sayin’ that’s a bad thing, only … it’s a lot of leftovers.

From Healthy Homestyle Cooking
Ingredients:

2 15 oz can of chick peas, rinsed and drained
1/2 cup grated onion
1/2 cup fresh parsley
1 egg white
1 clove garlic, minced
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
dash of ground red pepper

I’m not quite sure what coarse cornmeal looks like

Put everything into a food processor until it resembles coarse cornmeal. Cover and refrigerate for half an hour.

Golden brown, but not exactly crispy

Shape mixture into small patties. Not kidding when I say small. I had them larger at first and they all fell apart. Spray an unheated pan with no-stick spray. Heat it over medium heat. Add the patties and cook until they are crispy golden brown, about three minutes each side.

I served it with the sour cream sauce (thanks, Gillian!) and some lettuce, and wrapped in some flatbread. I suspect it would also taste pretty good in some pita.

So, enjoy? πŸ™‚

10 thoughts on “Fal-awful? Or Fala-fail?

  1. So, like salmon patties, but with chick-peas! Got it! πŸ™‚ I think my oldest, who’s always getting after me about eating healthier….sigh….would like these.

    • It is good… low in fat, though the beans are a bit high in calories… but the GOOD kind! *grin* And sour cream. Can’t go wrong there.

      I should make some salmon patties. YUM.

  2. Over here in the UAE falafel is served with rocket (roquette). The bitter lettuce makes for a nice contrast. You can also squeeze on some lemon juice for extra flavor. Now, are you up to trying kushery?

    • Ooh, some lemon on these sounds GOOD!!

      I have no idea what kushery is, but I say Bring it ON! Thanks for stopping by. πŸ™‚

  3. Yesterday I was going to ask what on earth are *scrolling up to see how to spell it* falafels. I became so totally consumed with extreme couponing I never got around to doing anything else I’d planned. And I’m not done making my list and organizing the coupons to match the Publix sales!

    So now you’ve answered my question about what they are, but do you have any taste comparisons you can give? Would I have to slather it with real mayo to make it palatable? They sure look good, but I’ve discovered I can make some gorgeous looking food that tastes like crap. *grin*

    Lis

    • Did I mention? I’ve got leftovers. I’ll bring some over. πŸ™‚

      It’s not really something you eat with mayo. Think more Mediterranean – hummus or lemon juice.

      • Speaking of hummus, thank you for the introduction! It’s on sale BOGO at Publix this week!

        You know, if something doesn’t taste good it’s best to just drench it with ranch dressing! It makes everything taste good. πŸ˜€ I’m still acquiring a taste for Mediterranean fare.

      • that ranch dressing pool is something Thing 2 would do. Or with ketchup.

Leave a Reply

