Go-to Meal: Tuna Noodleriffic

Don’t you love those go-to meals? The ones where you KNOW you always have all the ingredients in the house and everybody loves? And, hey, they’re nutritious, too!

Tuna Noodleriffic is actually my mother-in-law’s recipe for cold tuna noodle salad, but try selling that to two boys. So we came up with this name and it’s been nothin’ but love ever since.

Ingredients:

A box of pasta. Sometimes I use penne and sometimes egg noodles. Lately I’ve been using garden rotini. Adds a nice color and more servings of vegetables!
2 cans of tuna
1/2 cup to 1 cup of mayonnaise (or mayo and plain yogurt, or sour cream, or whatever)
2 hard boiled eggs
chopped veggies, seasonings, and the kitchen sink. My standards are cucumber, avocado, and tomato, and garlic and parsley. But, really, any vegetable you want, any seasonings you want, it’s all good.

Instructions:

Prepare the pasta according to the package directions.
If you’re making this meal ahead of time, mix in some of the mayo (so the pasta doesn’t get clumpy) and stick it in the fridge so it cools. If you’re making it now, drain the pasta and keep it in the colander, fill up the sink with ice water and dunk the pasta in the water to cool it down. It’s *cold* tuna noodle salad, remember.

Tuna Noodleriffic with cucumbers and yellow peppers

Once the pasta is cool, mix the tuna and the rest of the mayo in it. Add the chopped veggies and seasonings and mix it all up good.

Put tuna and pasta mixture in a baking dish (though we’re not going to bake it). Slice the eggs and decorate the top. Serve it up and eat!

… on a side note, this picture doesn’t look too appetizing. But I PROMISE – you will make this meal time and time again.

What are the go-to meals in your house?

8 thoughts on “Go-to Meal: Tuna Noodleriffic

  1. Mmmmm I’m gonna try this recipe tonight, G! Our go-to meal is tuna macaroni and cheese, lol. You make the mac n cheese then add onions, garlic, and 2 cans of tuna. SO good!

    • Sounds strangely similar! Tuna is so great because you know it won’t get spoiled if you don’t use it in a week.

      Do you make your own mac and cheese or do you get it from a box? My Things go-to meal is hot dogs with mac and cheese. Only they don’t like it when I make the M&C from scratch. 🙂

  2. Hahahah, yeah, when you said “go-to”… I thought it meant quick, easy meals so NO on the making it from scratch LOL from the box is fine when all you wanna do is relax coming home from work

    • It’s more like a what-should-I-make-for-dinner-oops-forgot-to-go-grocery-shopping-let’s-see-what-I-got kind of thing. Bonus if it’s quick. 🙂

  3. I never, ever, ever liked tuna casserole and I’m sure it was because everyone adds stupid crunchy peas to theirs. The memory of being forced to eat it as a kid has hung over my head as an adult – like the pall of manure wafting through the countryside right before the farmers plant their fields. Now this recipe looks like something I’d like. No stupid crunchy peas! I think I’d take out the yellow peppers and definitely add chopped fresh tomatoes. Yummo! 🙂

    Our go-to is almost always hotdogs with boxed mac & cheese. My fam loves homemade m&c, but with the price of Velveeta these days I only have it on hand when I can get it BOGO stacked with 4 coupons. The other most frequent would be grilled cheese sandwiches with whatever anyone can find to add as a side, i.e. Lightly Salted Lays potato chips. Mmmm…

    • Okay, well, sometimes I put stupid crunchy peas in Tuna Noodleriffic, too. It just depends on what I have on hand.

      Let me know if you make it.

      • The funny thing is, I have nothing against peas in general. I love peas. I think being forced to eat them when I was a kid with unrefined kid tastebuds tainted my view of tuna casserole. I’m definitely going to make Tuna Noddleriffic! And as luck would have it, I have coupons for all the ingredients–even the eggs! *grin*

  4. Pingback: “That’s not how my mom makes it!” | Chicklets in the Kitchen

Leave a Reply

