Chick Chat Friday: Sick Chick and Easy Breezy Freezy

Hey! It’s still Friday for another 1.5 hours. Poor Lis’Anne was sick last week and it made me wonder what the family does when the cook is out of commission.

Abigail:
You feeling better?

Lis’Anne:
MUCH! I felt so horrible…all I could do was stay curled up in a ball in bed. 😦

Abigail:
Oh, no!
So what does your family do when you’re ill? Fast food, like mine?

Lis’Anne:
Well, it depends on what’s in the house. Rarely do they order out or pick up anything.

Abigail:
well, that’s good. Do they actually cook, or is it soup and cold cereal?

Lis’Anne:
They actually cook! Maybe not very elaborate, but something hot.
Like grilled cheese and tomato soup.

Abigail:
Good for them! When I’m sick, my family diet consists of whatever fast food restaurant Husband is in the mood for.

Lis’Anne:
The hubs doesn’t even cook hotdogs?

Abigail:
Oh, he probably could. If he wanted to.
When we were dating, he would make turkey burgers or chicken parmesan.
But now if I KNOW I’m going to be out of commission, like having surgery or something, then I stock up on meals I can freeze or visit places that prep the meal for you.

Lis’Anne:
I’m sure the Trim Man would pick up something for the family on his way home, but he usually doesn’t discover he needs to until he finds me dead to the world.

Abigail:
And then who wants to go out again?

Lis’Anne:
Yum! I love chicken parmesan!
Exactly. There’s nothing really convenient in our end of town.

Abigail:
Even when I’m sick I try to cook something. I want my Things eating healthy!

Lis’Anne:
One of his favorite go-to meals when I’m sick is spaghetti. His absolute favorite food and so easy.
I know what you mean. I’m thankful I taught my boys from a very young age how to cook.

Abigail:
That’s one easy to please man!
Oh, did I TELL you what happened when I taught Thing One how to cook?

Lis’Anne:
laugh You said it, chicklet!
What?!

Abigail:
He had to turn off the burner and was nervous about sticking his hand over a hot stove. Understandable. So I told him we’d do it together.

Lis’Anne:
Very scary for a little kid…

Abigail:
I’m holding his hand, he’s nervous, and I have my other arm around him, and Husband walks in and yells “WHAT ARE YOU DOING???” Thing One screamed and told me he was never cooking again.
*sigh*
I told Husband to leave the kitchen and not to come back unless he was washing dishes.

Lis’Anne:
OH NO!!!!
OH YES!!!!

Abigail:
But like a horse…

Lis’Anne:
Of course…must press on

Abigail:
I should say like falling off a horse.

Lis’Anne:
like a horse…*snort*
The boys can cook just about anything if they want it bad enough. Most of the time it’s quesadillas.

Abigail:
Ooh, I want quesadillas!
Soon after we moved in together, Husband got sick. Once he went to bed I called his mom and got her chicken soup recipe.
He hadn’t fallen asleep yet, so he knew I was making it for him. Ruined the surprise.

Lis’Anne:
Awww! That was SO sweet of you!
You know…I keep planning to do the make-ahead meals that Miranda and I talked about, then have them in the freezer. Just haven’t done it yet.

Abigail:
So helpful when you’re ill. Have you ever gone to one of those places that does it for you?

Lis’Anne:
No, I haven’t, but I used to do it way back in the olden days. 😉
I seriously miss my upright freezer. It was much more convenient than this chest one.

Abigail:
You can see more with an upright.

Lis’Anne:
You know…now that we’re talking about it, I’m going to make up a few things to keep in there just in case.

Abigail:
You should. I should, too.

Lis’Anne:
Yes, and you don’t have to dig down under everything to find what you’re looking for.
Yes, let’s do.

Abigail:
Right!
Laugh okay, when? And what?

Lis’Anne:
Some easy casseroles would be nice. I wonder if any of our readers would share some recipes with us?

Abigail:
Ooh, easy breezy freezy meals!

Lis’Anne:
Hey! Cool title! And you say you can never think of good one! grin
Hmmm…let’s think about what would be healthy, yet easy for us to make in mass quantities.

Abigail:
I don’t need mass quantities… just four servings or so.
well, eight, for leftovers.

Lis’Anne:
Oh, I NEED mass quantities! LOL

Abigail:
Cuz you have The Brady Bunch over there.
People-wise. Not situation-wise.

Lis’Anne:
That ain’t no joke, sistah. (o_0)
laughing out loud
All guys…even the daggone dog!

What does your family do when the main chef is sick? And do you have any easy breezy freezy meals you want to share? Your recipe could be featured on our site… one day. *grin*

2 thoughts on “Chick Chat Friday: Sick Chick and Easy Breezy Freezy

  1. Loved your post. My hubby is the chief cook in the house but I take up the slack when he’s traveling for business or ill. My motto is, “if I’m cooking, it’s going to be easy.” 🙂

    One casserole-type dish I make that’s super easy is homemade potpie. It’s fast, only has the veggies and meat I like, I can change it up for the seasons and in my house, there are always leftovers (my little ones are still small).

    Hugs to you Lis’Anne. Glad you’re on the mend.

    • Do you do the crust yourself? And what do you put in it?

      Husband doesn’t like pie crust or biscuits or stuff like that. Makes it hard to do a pot pie. Or a quiche. 🙂

Leave a Reply

