Guest Chick Monday: Carey Corp

Carey Corp

Please welcome guest chick Carey Corp, one of my 2010 Golden Heart® sisters.  Originally from California, Carey currently resides four miles from a large Midwestern metropolis with three badly behaved pets, two delightfully challenging children, and one incredibly supportive soul mate. Since high school, she’s bummed around Europe, learned Italian, found a job that she likes, maintained a love affair with Jane Austen and written three novels.    She’s got one heavenly dessert recipe for us, and that ties into her post about her novel, The Halo Chronicles:  The Guardian (available at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Smashwords).  Visit www.careycorp.com for more author information AND win a Kindle for your kid—visit the Kindle-indiependence giveaway. (Contest ends July 4th).

Plus she’s giving away a (I believe electronic, but I could be wrong) book.  Take it away, Carey!

When I set out to write The Halo Chronicles:  The Guardian, I didn’t intend for pivotal scenes in the book to happen in the kitchen, but the more I focused on the heart of normal family life, the more my characters ended up there.

The story centers on fifteen-year-old Alexia, who is “cursed” with the ability to see the good and evil of human beings in the form of light and darkness that halo their bodies. She’s grown up in foster care bouncing between homes and facilities but never staying in one place very long. She’s only ever been close to one person and the system has separated them.

The Guardian

The whole book takes place within a small suburban community, but for Alex it’s like falling through the rabbit hole. What you or I might consider normal—cooking, baking, shopping at the mall, going to the salon—are strangely new to her. When Alex’s new foster family and a mysterious boy turn her world upside down, she has to decide whether to keep running away or to face her fears and stay. But staying means she’ll have to let people in.

 

As her barriers start to relax, it seemed natural to use food rituals such as preparing and eating means together as the catalyst for some of her most pivotal moments. Sunday dinners, cold-curing chicken soup, and a traditional Thanksgiving feast all play a role in Alex dropping her defenses.

Here’s my cast of characters and their food specialties:
Alexia – homemade cranberry sauce
Kate – gumbo, lamb with mint sauce
Steven – Ethnic take out
Derry – anything other than peanut butter and jelly sandwiches, especially if Alex makes it
Gabriel – celestial homemade chicken soup (it’s practically got healing powers)
Nana Kransky – Thanksgiving feasts with all the trimmings

Being an author with a corporate job, I don’t cook as much as I did in my pre-writing days. But each season, I try to make a few of my favorite dishes. I love ethnic foods and dabble in Thai and Indian cuisine. I lived in Italy after high school and learned much about the country and its culture hanging out in Italian kitchens. However today, in Gabriel’s honor, I am going to share my favorite summer dessert. It’s super simple, but my family loves it.

Heavenly Mango Delight

Mango!

2 slightly soft mangoes cubed (we hack off long chunks and then peel the skin from the fruit)
Lite Cool Whip – frozen
Angel food cake cut into slices
Sweetened Angel Flake Coconut
Maraschino cherries

Cover angel food cake slices with mango. Top with frozen Lite Cool Whip. Sprinkle with angel flake coconut and stick a cherry on top. If mango is not your thing, try seasonal berries with chocolate angel food cake and chocolate shavings on top. This is a great dessert for kids to assemble. In my house, the adults cut the fruit and then let the kids go to town on creating the rest.

Your turn: What’s your summer specialty?
Comment, and you could win a copy of The Halo Chronicles:  The Guardian.

7 thoughts on “Guest Chick Monday: Carey Corp

  1. Carey, thank you for your heavenly dessert and equally heavenly book cover! I think I want to have dinner with your characters. Especially for the lamb with mint sauce, YUM.

    I don’t have a summer specialty, but I do love the fresh corn and strawberries. The Things love watermelon. I just like it when I can cook a dish without my kitchen getting too hot! *laugh*

  2. Oh my gosh, that dessert sounds heavenly. Love mangos and cherries. Gosh, it’s first thing in the morning where I am, so food isn’t on my mind yet. I’m watching my weight (ha ha), so I keep a container full of strawberries and blueberries to much on. Congratulations on the Halo Chronicles. The premise sounds intriguing!

    • Hi Donnell – Congrats on the weight control. Stay strong. I dust my berries with cocoa when I’m desperate.And Lite cool whip has very few calories – so I say skip the cake and go right for mangos and cool whip. With a cherry, of course. 😉

  3. I’ve recently had major success with two summery desserts that I plan to make part of my annual foodie repertoire: blueberry-lemon cheesecake bars and buttermilk ice cream. Both very light and delicious, and both super easy to make. Now THAT’S what summer is all about. 🙂

  4. Hi, Carey! Thanks so much for sharing your story and cool dessert! Both sound perfect to relax with on the back deck under the shade of an umbrella. 🙂

    I think my favorite summer time dessert is my grandma Betty’s easy cherry cheesecake. It’s no-bake and fluffy with a Cool Whip layer over the cream cheese. Love it!

Leave a Reply

