Sausage and Egg Cups

Sometimes I get SO TIRED of breakfast.  It’s boring, boring, boring.  If I’m watching my girlish figure, I usually have oatmeal and egg beaters (cooked separately).  Sometimes I’ll have oatmeal with blueberries, vanilla, and walnuts, YUM.  I used to eat cereal every day, but I’m pretty burned out on it now.  I love French toast, but there’s that whole calorie thing again.  Plus I usually bring my breakfast to work with me and eat it there.  French toast is too messy for that.

I was cleaning up a pile of stuff (one of the many decorating my house.  DON’T JUDGE) and I came across a Quick & Easy Freezer Meals cook book thingy and found a recipe for Rise and Shine Sausage and Oatmeal Cups.  Ooh, I love sausage.  And Oatmeal is good for you.  What could be better?

I modified the recipe a bit, so I’m including the original along with my changes.

Oatmeal Cups:

1 lb loose sausage (as in, not links or patties)
*I used 1 lb turkey sausage
2/3 cup quick or old-fashioned oats
*I used a cup.  I’ll probably use more next time, maybe 1.5 cups
1/4 cup milk
1 egg white
*I used a tablespoon of egg beaters
1 Tbsp finely chopped onion
*I didn’t use any.  I didn’t have any.  😦

Filling (don’t make if you’re freezing it):

I just used egg beaters.  Nothing else.  But here’s the recipe version.
2 teaspoons butter
8 eggs, beaten
1/2 cup soft cream cheese (plain or herb)
3/4 cup chopped and seeded tomatoes, drained
2 Tbsp snipped fresh chives, fresh dill, or green onion tops

Sausage and Egg Cup Pyramid

Instructions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and prepare oatmeal cups.  Combine everything in a bowl and mix it up.  Divide mixture evenly among muffin tins.  Press mixture firmly on bottom and up sides to form hollow cups.  Bake 12 – 15 minutes or until cooked through.  Drain cups on paper towel and keep warm.  Mine made about 20 cups.  If you’re planning on freezing them, stop here.  Wrap each cup individually in plastic wrap and store in a freezer bag for up to one month.

So I did this part, but instead of cooking them empty, I poured the egg beaters in it.  But then I had to cook it for, like, half an hour, because the eggs wouldn’t firm up.  What I’ll probably do next time is cook them for 20 minutes and then turn the oven off but leave them inside.  PLUS if I make some to freeze, I’ll still put the egg beaters in and freeze it this way.  I’ll let you know how that works out.

If you’re preparing them the original recipe way, continue on…

Melt butter in a large skillet.  Add eggs, cook, stirring frequently.  When almost done, fold in remaining ingredients and cook until eggs reach desired doneness.  Divide mixture evenly among sausage cups and serve hot.  Refrigerate leftovers.

If you’re doing the calorie counting thang, I figured one cup my way is about 70 calories. And they’re quite tasty, too! What’s your favorite breakfast?

3 thoughts on “Sausage and Egg Cups

  1. Girl, those look fabulous! You know I don’t eat breakfast, but I’d definitely go for these. In fact, I’d serve them up for supper with toast or biscuits on the side! 🙂 The good thing about this recipe is my guys could pull a few out of the freezer and microwave for a fast, healthy(er) breakfast.

  2. When I’m in a sweet mood, I want pancakes… usually with bacon. When I’m in a salty mood, I want an omelet… usually with bacon, but not a bacon omelet. What can I say? Almost everything’s better with bacon. (Yet another reason to be glad I’m a heathen/reincarnationist… no dietary proscriptions!)

Leave a Reply

