Gluten-Free In A Pinch

Last week I was in NYC at the RWA National Conference. It was exciting! It was thrilling! It was danged hard to be gluten-free. 🙂

Until this year, I’d always asked for a vegetarian meal at conferences and been served, well…vegetables. This year the lovely caterers kept trying to serve me pasta. Sweet of them to try to spice up my vegetarian meal, but I was stuck. One particularly wonderful man took away my pasta dish and presented me with a plate over-flowing with fresh fruit.

But not every meal was provided at the conference. Those times I did much better.

Most of the time I could order food without the bun. Granted, it did garner some peculiar stares from waiters. But I didn’t mind. So long as the food was yummy and didn’t leave me in pain, life was better than good.

I ate things like…a real New York hotdog with sauerkraut, authentic cheesecake (living dangerously there, but I had to try it and I avoided the crust), a pickle that was neither dill nor sweet, and the best shrimp scampi I’ve ever tasted.

One afternoon I managed to convince fellow author, Ava Milone, to join me in a quest to find tasty and affordable sushi. We found a lovely little place up (or was it down?) on 56th Street.

As you can see, our plates overflowed with delectable, gluten-free items. But be warned, not all soy sauce is gluten-free. When in doubt, bring your own.

But my favorite food places sat across from one another…the Hershey Store and the M&M Store. Oh, so much food to eat. I love chocolate! Best of all, many things in those stores were gluten-free. In the end I came home with a 1/2 pound bag of M&Ms. All purple of course!

2 thoughts on “Gluten-Free In A Pinch

  1. I’m glad you had such a good time there, food woes aside. But now I’m craving an overflowing plate of fresh fruit and sushi.

    We’ll have to do sushi next time we’re together. 🙂

Leave a Reply

