Soft Foods for a Tin Grin

Thing 1 has done something neither Husband nor I have ever done.  He got braces.

Thing 1 and his braces (Ignore the UGA colors. He wanted to be a vampire.)

Thankfully he hasn’t complained of any pain.  I had prepared for the worst.  Every dinner I served this week was soft.  Tuna Noodleriffic.  Soft fish tacos.  Macaroni and cheese.  Breakfasts were smoothies and pancakes.

I searched for different soft foods to serve, and every site said the same thing. Eggs.  Oatmeal.  Smoothies.  Bananas.  Jello.  Blah blah blah.  Give me something I *don’t* know.

No, I’m serious.  Give me something I don’t know.  Did you or do your young’uns have braces?  What do you feed them that isn’t the same ol’ boring standard fare?

8 thoughts on “Soft Foods for a Tin Grin

  1. Awesome Thing 1!!! The best for right after tightening is a chocolate milkshake. 😉 But for lunch or supper…Cheesy Mashed Potatoes! After cooking the potatoes like normal, drain and add them back to the pot. For 5 lbs. add to the top of the potatoes 1 stick of butter cut into pieces and 1 lb. of Velveeta cut into small pieces, salt and pepper to taste. Put the lid back on and let it set for the cheese and butter to melt then smash it all up while you stir. YUMMO! If it’s too thick, just add about a 1/4 cup of milk and stir. Store the leftovers in small containers in the freezer then just microwave whenever. 🙂

    • You forget my family of four does not consume food like your larger brood. *laugh* Five Pounds??? It would take us a year to eat all that!

      But it does sound good. I think I’ll try this one.

      • Umm…I actually cook 8-10 lbs. for my brood because they all want leftovers for the next day. I don’t smash the potatoes up though. I cook them just until they’re fork tender without breaking apart. There’ve been many times I overcooked them and they came out like smashed potatoes and tasted exactly the same. This is one of their all-time favorite sides for anything we cook on the grill. 🙂

      • Yep. One time I didn’t and we didn’t like it. Oh, it was edible, just not the same.

        I will!

        I used to make 20 lbs. of mashed potatoes every Christmas and Thanksgiving for the big family dinners. I haven’t been back home for either of those for several years now, but did it for a good 20 years. Very BIG family! 🙂

  2. Oh, and broccoli cheese soup. My boys always loved it when their braces hurt–and still do even though they no longer have tin grins!

    Chicken Vienna sausages are a good source of protein and very soft to eat. You can drain them and add a dollop of barbeque sauce to make them tastier. 🙂

      • I don’t follow a recipe when I make it. I start with 1 large bag of frozen broccoli, 1-1/2 lbs. Velveeta cut into pieces, 1 stick of butter cut up, and just enough milk to cover all in a crockpot. Add more milk if it seems too thick while cooking. Cook all day until the broccoli it very tender then I mash it with a potato masher. If you have an immersion blender you could use it here. Oh, don’t forget to salt and pepper to taste! If the soup is too thin, add just about a 1/4 to 1/2 cup of instant mashed potatoes to thicken it.

Leave a Reply

