Guest Chick Monday: 2 Debuts from Lena Diaz! He Kills Me, He Kills Me Not & Lena’s Secret Recipe for Chocolate-Bottom Peanut Butter Pie

Please welcome today’s guest Chicklet, Lena Diaz! Thanks for joining us and sharing your fabo recipe with us, darling!  

Lena’s a romantic suspense author with Avon Impulse (an imprint of Harper Collins) and her novel, He Kills Me, He Kills Me Not, debuted August 9th!  Yay, Lena!  With a title like that, we know it will be an ‘on the edge of your seat’ read!

Lena is sharing her family favorite, Lena’s Secret Recipe for Chocolate Bottom Peanut Butter Pie.  It sounds amazing and although she may deny it, she must have some creative moments in the kitchen to come up with such a decadent dessert!

I forgot to add, Lena is giving away romance trading cards to 10 lucky commenters!

click the link

 

Thank you, Chicklets, for inviting me to your blog. I’m a bit intimidated by all the wonderful recipes I’ve seen by other guests, and of course by the lovely Chicklets. I’m not much of a cook. In fact, the joke in my family is that I’m only good at making foods with three ingredients. Below is my sum-total list of specialities in the kitchen.  Note that they only contain 3 ingredients!

* Deviled Eggs – (1) Eggs, (2) mayonnaise, (3) salt

* Rice Krispie Treats – (1) Rice Krispies, (2) marshmallows, (3) butter

* Cole Slaw – (1) Cabbage, (2) mayonnaise, (3) sugar

* Black beans and Rice – (1) Black beans, (2) White rice, (3) chopped Polska Kielbasa

Okay, there is one other dish, Black-Bottom Peanut Butter Pie, that I make on special occasions, like Thanksgiving and Christmas. I don’t make it very often because it takes a long time and a lot of work. Since today isn’t Thanksgiving, and it’s not Christmas, I’m not breaking tradition and making it now, but I’m including the recipe below. This is the only recipe I’ve ever created, and I’m quite proud of it. No one has ever eaten one of my pies and not loved it. (If you make the recipe and don’t like it, please don’t tell me. I’d rather keep my success streak intact!)

Lena’s Secret Recipe for Chocolate Bottom Peanut Butter Pie

I made this recipe myself by borrowing and modifying from several other recipes.  It’s very yummy and my family loves it.  I hope you do too!  It is different from most peanut-butter pies because I drastically cut back on the amount of peanut-butter.  This makes it much lighter tasting – delicious.

Makes 4 pies.  Takes about three or four hours if you count wait time for freezing the chocolate bottom, then the filling, then decorating and freezing again.  Definitely not something you can throw together quickly.  But these pies freeze for weeks and are still delicious.

Chocolate Bottom:

2 2/3 cup semisweet chocolate chips

1 1/3 cup heavy cream

4 Graham Cracker pie crusts

Combine chocolate chips and cream.  Stir constantly over low heat until chocolate is melted and the mixture is smooth.  Pour into graham cracker pie crust, just enough to cover the bottom and come up about 1/8 inch.  For extra-chocolaty flavor, use chocolate graham cracker pie crust (but my family prefers regular).  Put in freezer until hard (about an hour probably).

Filling:

16 ounces cream cheese

1 ½ cup powdered sugar

1 cup creamy peanut butter

32 ounces Cool Whip

Mix cream cheese, sugar, peanut butter and Cool Whip until blended.  Pour into black-bottomed pie crust, put in freezer until it sets pretty well (probably about ½ hour or maybe an hour).

Decorations:

Tollhouse miniature semi-sweet chocolate chips

Reese’s miniatures

Spray whipped topping

Hershey’s chocolate syrup (optional – makes pie a little messy because it doesn’t freeze solid)

Hershey’s Caramel Ice Cream topping (optional – makes pie a little messy because it doesn’t freeze solid)

Use spray whipped topping to cover top of pie.

Sprinkle chocolate chips on top of pie.

Drizzle Hershey’s chocolate syrup and some Caramel syrup on top of pie

Cut Reese’s miniatures into fourths and sprinkle top of pie with them.

Freeze pie.

Pie thaws out and starts to melt very quickly.  Take it out about ½ hour before you want to eat it.  Can’t sit out long – will have to put rest of pie back in freezer quickly.

There is one other food item that I absolutely love. And since I don’t have to make it, it’s very high on my favorite list. For lunch I often go to Zaxby’s for a Garden (meaning, no chicken) House Zalad with light ranch dressing, no Texas Toast.  LOVE IT!  And it’s very low on calories–always a good thing. I’ve included a picture below showing a yummy zalad.  I highly recommend them!

So what’s your favorite lunch food? If it’s low calorie, even better. Tell me about it!

He Kills Me, He Kills Me Not was a finalist in the 2010 RWA Golden Heart®, and won both the 2009 TARA and the 2010 Daphne du Maurier awards.

Lena grew up a Navy Brat, but while two of her three siblings followed her father’s footsteps and joined the Navy, Lena loosely followed her musically talented mother’s footsteps by choosing a more creative path, writing. Her first novel-length manuscripts were paranormal romances ranging from contemporary vampire stories to medieval druid tales. Since dead bodies kept creeping into everything she wrote, she eventually turned to romantic suspense. Today Lena can be found in North Florida with her husband of twenty-plus years, her belly-dancing daughter, her mud-bogging son, a tri-colored Sheltie named Sparky, and a pair of Beta fish named Rocky Bal-Beta and Mr. T.

You can connect with Lena at www.twitter.comLenaDiaz , www.facebook.comLenaDiazAuthor , or www.LenaDiaz.com and to order, go to: http://harpercollins.com/authors/38579/Lena_Diaz/index.aspx (click on her book cover above 😉 )

(Or go to any online major online book retailer (Amazon, Barnes and Noble, etc.).

24 thoughts on “Guest Chick Monday: 2 Debuts from Lena Diaz! He Kills Me, He Kills Me Not & Lena’s Secret Recipe for Chocolate-Bottom Peanut Butter Pie

  1. Oh, Lena, what a delicious-sounding dessert! I’d love, love, love to try that.

    As for a favorite lunch food, it depends on what season it is, whether I’m craving something hot or cold, and how much of a factor convenience is. And since I work nights and my lunch is therefore in the middle of the night, that last point is often the deciding one.

  2. Lena! Welcome to the Chicklets!

    Husband is not a fan of graham cracker crusts, and I keep thinking how good the peanut butter would taste with oreo cookie crusts NOM NOM NOM. And have you ever noticed – your crust has only three ingredients, and the filling four. Keeping your streak alive!

    And sad to say, I’m a frozen lunch kind of girl. However, that offers a lot of variety and an easy way to count calories. Today’s lunch is fettuccine alfredo.

  3. My guys love peanut buttery stuff so I know they’ll love this recipe! That it makes 4 pies is a huge plus because 1 wouldn’t come close to satisfying their huge cravings. 🙂

    For lunch I usually grab a bit of the previous night’s supper leftover in the fridge. I do love a good turkey sandwich with a slice of cheese and mustard, though. Alas, all I have today is bologna. 🙂

  4. Thank you all for the warm welcome, and thank you chicklets for hosting me today. I hope you all try the pie recipe sometime. You can use crushed Oreo pie shells if you don’t want to use Graham cracker crust! I hope you will all try my novel too!!!

  5. By the way, if you would like free romance trading cards for my novel and you comment on this blog today, send me your snailmail address. I will send RTC’s to the first ten commenters who send me their address. I am not using your addresses for any purpose other than to mail cards. My email address is LenaWrites@bellsouth.net.

  6. Goodness, I think I gained ten pounds just reading that post, lol! Your new release sounds scrumptious Lena, just like the pie. Thanks for posting the recipe and giving us an inside peek about the book.

  7. Yum. Now, you’re kind of cheating on the three item black beans and rice – you use salt, right? That’s four…

    Okay, sorry, I have a huge headache. Your pies sound amazing. And just the kind of thing to take for food day at the office.

    I usually bring my own lunch – fewer calories and less hassle – but I love it when I find a great salad. I like the added meat, especially when it’s tuna. Tuna steak that is.

    Great post – good luck with your debut!
    Lynn

    • Thanks Lynn. Give me some leeway on the 3-ingredient rule on my black beans and rice. We can’t count spices, right??? If we do – I have to add the garlic and onion powder too! Real onions, bell peppers, and garlic are much better in the recipe actually, but my husband hates the consistency of them. So, I have to use spices instead. Source cream is also quite yummy to top it off.

  8. Lena,

    I love your cooking philosophy. Three ingredients rock! 🙂

    My favorite lunchtime food is hard boiled eggs, with veggie chips and homemade sweet tea. Not very original but easy!

    Thanks for posting today. I’ll have to try your pie recipe out on my family. They love peanut butter!

  9. Oh, my. What a luscious pie. I gained five pounds just reading the ingredients. I can’t wait to try it. Lunch? For ordinary days, when I really try to stay on the calorie count, I do like Abigail, the frozen, under-300 calorie variety. But for the special occasions, there’s a restaurant in town that has a to-die for strawberry/blueberry/spinach/
    pecan salad served with a side of strawberry soup.

    Oh, and I’m sending you my snail mail for a trading card. Love to have one. Thanks.

  10. Whoa – that sounds awesome. I’ve never invented a recipe before so you’re already way ahead of the curve as far as I’m concerned. 😉

  11. Wow, great recipe. I love anything with peanut butter and I’m tempted to say PB&J for my favorite lunch, but more often I find myself just eating a dish of cottage cheese. That’s just one ingredient! (plus light salt)

    HKMHKMN is waiting on my smart phone – looking forward to reading it.

    • I used to love cottage cheese when I was a kid. For some reason, I’ve gotten where I can’t stand it. No idea why. I used to eat it with fruit, like peaches. Never tried salt on it.

      Thanks so much for buying my book! I really hope you enjoy it.

  12. I love that three ingredient rule!!! I’m not a fan of peanut butter but I’m thinking that maybe some Rice Krispie Treats are in my near future. Thanks for the reminder!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

