Guest Elle Cosimano: Miss Donna’s Sweet Onion Spoonbread

This week, I’m honored to have an old friend as our Guest Chick. Elle Cosimano is an up-and-coming YA Thriller author.

Last week, she invited me to her house to sample her spoonbread (which is cornbread so rich that you need a spoon) recipe. I snapped photos and listened as she told the story of old family friends, Miss Donna and Pops.

But I think I’ll let Elle tell you the story of her cornbread in her own words! 🙂

Some people associate romance with chocolate and oysters.

Or strawberries and champagne.

I think of cornbread.

 

Guest Elle Cosimano: Miss Donna’s Sweet Onion Spoonbread | Chicklets in the Kitchen

 

Yep.

Cornbread.

Because Miss Donna’s Sweet Onion Spoonbread brings back those muggy July nights – wet newspapers and mountains of Maryland Blue Crabs, Margarita pitchers sweating rings on the glass top tables and citronella candles burning lemon smoke into the still night air. Those tequila sunset nights when Pops would pull Miss Donna in close and make her cackle while they danced to The Drifters, The Beach Boys and The Supremes.  Those nights, my parents would get up and dance too, because Pops and Donna were contagious together.

Back then I was thirteen and Pops made me blush clear through my sunburn when he held Donna tight and pointed to their big bed and called it his “workbench.” He had a proud and wicked twinkle in his eye, and I thought I knew what he meant. But I was too young to understand — too naïve to appreciate the real work that comes with loving someone so completely for so long. He made it seem effortless, loving her out loud with a passion so gritty and rich and sweet, the scent of cornbread could carry it for a lifetime.

Here’s to you, Pops.

 

Miss Donna’s Sweet Onion Spoonbread

1 large Vidalia onionGuest Elle Cosimano: Miss Donna’s Sweet Onion Spoonbread | Chicklets in the Kitchen

¼ cup butter

12oz package of corn muffin mix

1 egg, beaten

1/3 cup of milk

1 cup creamed corn

2 drops hot sauce

1 cup sour cream

¼ tsp salt

¼ tsp dill

1 cup grated sharp cheddar

Honey to taste

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

Slice onion into thin rings and sauteé in butter until soft. Set onions aside.

Combine milk, egg, corn muffin mix, creamed corn and hot sauce. Add a bit of honey to sweeten the batter. Pour mixture into a greased 8’ square pan or casserole dish.

Add sour cream, salt, dill, and ½ cup of cheese to the onions and stir. Spread over the batter. Sprinkle with remaining cheese.

Bake 24-30 minutes. Serve hot .  Recommended pairing?  Oysters.Guest Elle Cosimano: Miss Donna’s Sweet Onion Spoonbread | Chicklets in the Kitchen

Elle Cosimano is a YA writer, represented by The Greenhouse Literary Agency. Originally from Maryland, she now lives in rural Virginia where she’s finishing her first YA mystery/thriller. She’s mom to two handsome scoundrels and wife to a very patient man.  Learn more about Elle at www.ElleCosimano.com or follow her on twitter at @ElleCosimano.

Thank you Elle, for sharing your wonderful story and delicious recipe with us!

Miss Donna’s Sweet Onion Spoonbread
Recipe Type: Traditional
Cuisine: Side Dish
Author: Elle Cosimano | Chicklets in the Kitchen
Prep time: 15 mins
Cook time: 30 mins
Total time: 45 mins
Ingredients
  • 1 large Vidalia onion
  • ¼ cup butter
  • 12oz package of corn muffin mix
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1/3 cup of milk
  • 1 cup creamed corn
  • 2 drops hot sauce
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • ¼ tsp dill
  • 1 cup grated sharp cheddar
  • Honey to taste
Instructions
  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees.
  2. Slice onion into thin rings and sauteé in butter until soft. Set onions aside.
  3. Combine milk, egg, corn muffin mix, creamed corn and hot sauce. Add a bit of honey to sweeten the batter. Pour mixture into a greased 8’ square pan or casserole dish.
  4. Add sour cream, salt, dill, and ½ cup of cheese to the onions and stir. Spread over the batter. Sprinkle with remaining cheese.
  5. Bake 24-30 minutes. Serve hot .
  6. Recommended pairing? Oysters.
13 thoughts on “Guest Elle Cosimano: Miss Donna’s Sweet Onion Spoonbread

  1. Pingback: Elle Cosimano – Guest Blogging: Chicklets in the Kitchen

  2. That it is, Abigail! I’d be lying if I called it a “light” one 😉

    Sadly, Pops left this world a few years ago. I’m sure he’s somewhere wonderful, waiting for her. Maybe there’s cornbread there too…

  3. Such a great recipe! You can bet I’m already searching for a way to make this gluten-free for me. 🙂 Thank you, Elle for sharing such a lovely story and fabulous recipe. I hear you have Mexican dishes too. Maybe we can entice you to come back in the future? 🙂

  4. Another great looking recipe, Elle! Made my mouth water just reading it, and makes me want to kick my doctor for forcing me to give up corn products 😦

    • Thanks, Carla! Be sure to check out recipes by Jess here in Chicklets in the Kitchen. She specializes in gluten-free and, having cooked with her before, I know she gets very creative with recipe and ingredient substitutions.

  5. I’d heard of spoonbread, but had no idea what it was. This sounds so good, and I think it would be perfect with ham steaks. 🙂

    The way you told the story of Pops and Miss Donna makes me wish I had been there. What a beautiful memory! Thank you so much for sharing it with us, Elle!

  6. OMGosh!!!
    What a heavenly recipe, it just sounds and looks soooo yummy!
    I will definitely add this one to my recipe collection.
    Thank you for sharing it.
    I do agree with Charlie, no oysters for me either.

    How sweet….Pops & Donna, beautiful, just beautiful!

    • Thanks, Dalila. Every memory I have of them together is beautiful. In every one, there’s good music and rich food, close dancing and a whole lot of love. It was my pleasure to share both the recipe and the memory.

Leave a Reply

