Perfect Gluten-Free Chocolate Chip Macadamia Cookies

I love chocolate chip cookies. I’ve been addicted to them since I first learned how to bake. So giving them up when I went gluten-free simply wasn’t an option.

Gluten-Free Chocolate Chip Macadamia Cookies | Chicklets in the Kitchen

Still, I’ve had to test the recipe several times before I found a version that was both tasty and pretty to look at. My first attempt was just horrible. We’re talking cardboard slathered in aged cooking oil had more flavor. My second attempt tasted fine but the cookies were the sorriest looking things you’ve ever seen. All spread out and crumbly like some kind of tan-colored spiderweb.

But I’ve finally hit upon the right mix of ingredients. I knew I’d finally struck gluten-free gold when a friend’s husband said, “These are gluten-free? I never would have known.”

Woohoo!

Gluten-Free Chocolate Chip Macadamia Cookies

1 1/4 C Garbanzo Bean Flour

1 C All Purpose Gluten-Free Flour

1 tsp salt

1 tsp Baking Soda

1 C Butter (melted)

3/4 C Sugar

3/4 C Light Brown Sugar

1 1/2 tsp Vanilla Extract

2 Large Eggs

2 C Semi-sweet Morsels

1 C Chopped Macadamia Nuts

Preheat oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit.

Combine Flours, salt and baking soda in a medium bowl. In a large bowl cream butter, vanilla, and sugars. Beat in eggs. Add flour mixture. Fold in chocolate morsels and nuts.

Drop by rounded teaspoonfuls onto a dark cookie sheet lined with aluminum foil. (Hint…the aluminum foil helps to distribute the heat better so the bottoms don’t turn black before the tops can turn golden.)

Bake for 9-11 minutes until the edges are lightly browned.

Cool on the cookie sheet for five minutes before removing cookies. Allow cookies to cool completely on wire racks after that.

Yields about five dozen medium-sized cookies.

BTW–I don’t do gluten but I love Macadamia nuts (or Macadamians as my six-year-old calls them.)  🙂 You don’t need to add nuts to your recipe but for something a little more unique try these nuts.  They add texture without overpowering the flavor of the cookie.

See you next week! I have another cookie recipe to share inspired by something I found in The Cake Mix Doctor Bakes Gluten-Free.

Perfect Gluten-Free Chocolate Chip Macadamia Cookies
Recipe Type: Gluten-Free
Cuisine: Dessert
Author: Mary Behre | Chicklets in the Kitchen
Prep time: 15 mins
Total time: 15 mins
Serves: 5 dozen
Ingredients
  • 1 1/4 C Garbanzo Bean Flour
  • 1 C All Purpose Gluten-Free Flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp Baking Soda
  • 1 C Butter (melted)
  • 3/4 C Sugar
  • 3/4 C Light Brown Sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp Vanilla Extract
  • 2 Large Eggs
  • 2 C Semi-sweet Morsels
  • 1 C Chopped Macadamia Nuts
Instructions
  1. Combine Flours, salt and baking soda in a medium bowl. In a large bowl cream butter, vanilla, and sugars. Beat in eggs. Add flour mixture. Fold in chocolate morsels and nuts.
  2. Drop by rounded teaspoonfuls onto a dark cookie sheet lined with aluminum foil. (Hint…the aluminum foil helps to distribute the heat better so the bottoms don’t turn black before the tops can turn golden.)
  3. Bake for 9-11 minutes until the edges are lightly browned.
  4. Cool on the cookie sheet for five minutes before removing cookies. Allow cookies to cool completely on wire racks after that.
3 thoughts on “Perfect Gluten-Free Chocolate Chip Macadamia Cookies

  1. I haven’t made cookies in an age. We could blame this on J since we have a long-standing deal. Whenever he bets me something, if I’m right he has to buy me a new article of clothing. If he’s right I have to make my homemade chocolate chip cookies. I haven’t been wrong in a very long time! *lol*

Leave a Reply

