Pasta…Not Just for Gluteny Gluttons Anymore

Gluteny Gluttons…that’s my husband’s term for himself. It means one who readily able to sit down and enjoy a heaping plate of pasta, spaghetti, bread…oh, you get the idea.

This week’s post is about the joys of pasta. When I first learned about going Gluten-Free, I thought for sure my torrid affair with pasta was over. Because let’s face, many gluten-free pastas out there are simply not palatable.

I’ve experimented with several different brands and types of pasta. Some never softened in boiling water. Some turned to absolute mush. And one particularly vile type of pasta turned the water into a thick, gray gel (similar to the blue soup from the movie “Bridget Jones’ Diary”) and but the pasta remained rock hard.

But I’ve since discovered a brand of pasta that works well. Schar pasta. I took this picture about a month ago, but I wanted to test the pasta a few times before I gave my Tasty Gluten-Free seal of approval.

I don’t make pasta sauce from scratch, but I do like to doctor it up with freshly grilled mushrooms and freshly grated Parmesan cheese. I’m not a vegetarian, but I don’t like meat in my pasta. (Leftover from the early days of my marriage when pasta was cheap but hamburger wasn’t. 🙂 )

While my family enjoyed thick slices of Texas Toast, I looked on and munched on Schar  bread sticks. Not the same as warm, rich toast, but definitely a great compliment to this meal.

So the next time you’re shopping in the Gluten-Free section of store, check out Schar pasta.  And no, I don’t get a kickback for recommending them. But you might just get a kick out of your gluten-free pasta dinner! 🙂

Happy eating!

One thought on “Pasta…Not Just for Gluteny Gluttons Anymore

Leave a Reply

