Crock pot – time saver or frustration machine?

Wednesdays have become crock pot days due to a weekly afternoon appointment.  While my two go-to crock pot meals, chili and slacker chicken, are still great, they get tiring after a while.

Plus I have family issues.  My kids don’t like tomato sauce (though they have no problem eating it on pizza or in said chili.  Hmmmm).  One doesn’t like rice.  Neither of them like potatoes (unless they’re the french fried variety).  One doesn’t like corn.  I don’t like using Cream Of soups.  I’m not sure why.  I think I should get over that.

This week I’m trying a chicken rominoff dish.  I think rominoff means made with cottage cheese and peas.  And, okay, ewwww.  Reading that totally turned me off from it.  Still making it.  I’m running out of ideas.

So I turn to you, faithful readers.  Favorite crock pot dishes, or ones that fit the above criteria?  Help a chicklet out!

7 thoughts on “Crock pot – time saver or frustration machine?

  1. Italian beef is awesome cooked in the crock pot. The longer it cooks, the better. I usually put mine on at night before I go to bed and let it continue all throughout the next day. Typically, you’d put in pepperocinis (finely diced) and some of the liquid from the jar, but I think it would be just as good without the added heat from the peppers.

    You can find lots of recipes for this on the Net, but I just use chuck roast, 1 packet of Italian dressing mix plus 1 bottle of premade. Remove all the fat from the beef, cut into small chunks and coat the pieces in the crock pot with the dressing mix. Pour about 1/2 the bottle of liquid dressing over everything, cover, and cook on low. Add more dressing as needed to keep a good broth going. You may need to add a little water if you run out of dressing. When done, leave it in the pot and use 2 forks to shred the beef. Serve on Italian bread. 🙂

  2. The hubs also did a potroast (with baby carrots, potato, onion) in our crockpot a couple of days ago. It was delish when fresh and still good earlier today, when I heated some leftovers in the microwave.

    Back when I used to cook (up until September 2010, when the mood hit me), I used the crockpot to make pulled pork. (Kosher pork, to be sure! Ahem.) It made some really tender sandwich meat. And beef stew is a cinch in the crockpot, as would be any soup that you want to simmer for a long time before you eat it.

  3. Oh you really should try to get over your dislike of Cream of soups — at least cream of mushroom which at my house is like the nectar of the gods 🙂 I’ve also been known to use cream of chicken, the occasional can of cream of broccoli, and for one recipe even cream of celery. I’ll admit that out of the can they’re pretty …. interesting looking and smelling, but something good usually happens to them when heat is applied.

Leave a Reply

