Miranda West: So Easy Homemade All Natural/Organic Baby Food

Please welcome Miranda West to the Chicklets today!  She’s a wife, mom, and school teacher who wanted only the best food for her baby.  Thank you for joining us today, Miranda, and sharing how you made baby Daniel’s food!  (Please excuse the wonky formatting! 🙂 )

Miranda & Daniel

I’m a chick who was blessed to be a stay at home mom for the past 14 months. As a stay at home mom, my “job” was to feed the baby, which for the first six months of life was nothing but liquid gold, after six months we started adding in some solids. One of my proud accomplishments is that my child was never fed baby food out of a jar, (except

Cut in half & remove seeds

applesauce, but that wasn’t a special baby version, just sugar free). I started this process because I knew I wanted to offer my child fresh food, and save a few pennies at the same time. It has been several months since I have made baby food, as my little one just turned 14 months, and is now eating mostly table food; however you can make it in large batches, freeze it, and warm it, as needed.

Place in dish with water and bake ’til tender

The process is pretty easy, bake/steam/cook which ever fruit or veggie you’d like to serve your kid, and then puree it. You can feed it directly to baby, or my favorite, put it into ice cube trays. After the food is frozen, just pop it out of the trays and into a Ziploc bag. Which works wonderfully, as then you can pull out individual portions to reheat, and heat more or less depending on your baby’s appetite.

My child’s personal favorite was sweet potatoes, so we have baked a

Scoop out & put in food processor

fair share of sweet potatoes and pureed them, some we even got from the farmer’s market. Some other foods that we made were: green beans, yellow squash, butternut squash, plums/prunes, bananas, pears, nectarines, avocados, carrots, and parsnips. We would mix some of the fruits into oatmeal, and some of the veggies were hidden in the sweet potatoes when he didn’t care for them directly. My favorite thing about homemade baby food, aside from I knew what was in it, is that it tasted like real food! There were no

Pour into ice cube trays and freeze

weird smells.

This food even travels pretty well, since it is frozen, we would often pull out the amount we expected him to eat, store it in a container and go. When it was time to eat the food was usually defrosted enough to eat.

My favorite website that offered information regarding specific cooking & storing baby food is: wholesomebabyfood.com

As school has resumed, I have started back to work, and I am now packing lunches for a one year old, and looking for fast easy meals, usually from the freezer to make when we get home! Thankfully I have a husband who loves to cook.

4 thoughts on “Miranda West: So Easy Homemade All Natural/Organic Baby Food

  1. Miranda, I remember when my Things were little that there were certain foods you weren’t supposed to make yourself? Though I don’t remember what they were or why. Any ideas?

    I tried making baby food, but it got frustrating. Of course, I was also working outside the home, too. Maybe I just hadn’t found the right website.

  2. You know, it’s getting pretty scary out there with so many food recalls. If it’s at all possible to grow your own, or buy from a local farmers market, it’s better to be safe than sorry.

    My babies didn’t eat completely organic, but they ate an awful lot that came from our own huge garden. I used to do a lot of canning so I knew exactly what was in the fruits and vegetables. All three of my boys loved sweet potatoes the best, too!

Leave a Reply

