The Gluten-Free Girl and Pumpkin Dip

Okay, so you’d assume something in a gourmet store called Pumpkin Dip would be gluten-free right? Wrong! I was heartbroken to learn the dip my boys were jonesing for actually had barley coloring!

For those who don’t know barley is gluten.

Dang! Another perfectly delicious-smelling concoction I can’t touch.But my boys loved it. Loved it so much, they kept sneaking back into the store for more samples.

I promised I’d find a recipe and make it home.

And what do you know…

The Gluten-Free Girl and Pumpkin Dip | Chicklets in the Kitchen

Gluten-Free Pumpkin Pie Dip

The Indescribably Delicious Gluten-Free Pumpkin Dip

8 oz Cream Cheese, softened

The Gluten-Free Girl and Pumpkin Dip | Chicklets in the Kitchen

Jr Chef Adding Cinnamon

2 C Confectioner’s Sugar

1 C Fresh or Canned Pure Pumpkin

1/2 C Sour Cream

1 tsp Ground Cinnamon

1 tsp Pumpkin Pie Spice

1/4 tsp Ground Ginger

Animal Cookies or Ginger Snaps

In a medium to large mixing bowl beat cream cheese and sugar until smooth and creamy. (It should resemble cream cheese icing.) Blend in pumpkin and sour cream. Mix in cinnamon, pumpkin pie spice and ginger.

For best results, I recommend chilling the dip at least one hour before eating. Serve with animal cookies or ginger snaps.

This is so easy, the kidlets can make it with adult supervision. Best of all, it’s Gluten-Free!

Yield: About 4 cups

Pumpkin Dip
Recipe Type: Gluten-Free, Traditional
Cuisine: Dessert
Author: Mary Behre | Chicklets in the Kitchen
Serves: 4 cups
Ingredients
  • 8 oz Cream Cheese, softened
  • The Gluten-Free Girl and The Pumpkin Dip | Chicklets in the Kitchen
  • Jr Chef Adding Cinnamon
  • 2 C Confectioner’s Sugar
  • 1 C Fresh or Canned Pure Pumpkin
  • 1/2 C Sour Cream
  • 1 tsp Ground Cinnamon
  • 1 tsp Pumpkin Pie Spice
  • 1/4 tsp Ground Ginger
  • Animal Cookies or Ginger Snaps
Instructions
  1. In a medium to large mixing bowl beat cream cheese and sugar until smooth and creamy. (It should resemble cream cheese icing.) Blend in pumpkin and sour cream. Mix in cinnamon, pumpkin pie spice and ginger.
  2. For best results, chill at least one hour before serving.
  3. Serve with animal cookies or ginger snaps.

 

8 thoughts on “The Gluten-Free Girl and Pumpkin Dip

  1. You’re welcome! Thank you for stopping by and commenting.

    Actually, my little guy took the bowl of dip and a bag of animals crackers to school yesterday for his show-and-tell.

    His little friends raved about his recipe. He was so proud of himself. πŸ™‚

  2. You’re sweet but like I said, it wasn’t my idea. When you’re on a restricted diet, it helps to find a way to re-create what the kids find at restaurants and gourmet stores. πŸ™‚

  3. It went over well!!! I’ve been kind of jonesing for ginger snaps anyway, and this was the perfect complement πŸ™‚ My nephew needs to follow a gluten-free diet, so I like to have things tucked away for my sister, too. Nice!

    • Kimberly,

      That’s excellent! πŸ™‚ I’m so glad you enjoyed it. It amazes me how many yummy recipes out there are easily converted into gluten-free goodness.

      Now, if I can just get the cornbread recipe right, I’ll post it soon! πŸ™‚

  4. Mary, Mary, this looks awesome! I’m not a fan of ginger snaps, but I bet vanilla wafers would be a great vehicle for getting the dip to my mouth. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

