Chili and Abigail’s Awesome Guacamole

The Things LOVE my chili.  And why is that, do you ask?  Is it the perfect ratio of beef to beans?  The carefully crafted mixture of seasonings?  The warmth and goodness and wholesomeness it provides?

No.  It’s because whenever I make chili, I also make guacamole.

Seriously, my guacamole is awesome. It’s not bragging if it’s true, right?  🙂  It’s based on a South Beach recipe but evolved into my own scrumptious dish.  But first things first.  Here’s the chili.  I make it in the slow cooker, but you can easily mix everything together and cook it on the stove top, too.

1 lbs-ish of beef
1 can black beans
1 can kidney beans
32 oz tomato sauce (not pasta sauce)
seasonings

Chili and Abigail's Awesome Guacamole | Chicklets in the Kitchen

Chili without meat. We were making chili dogs.

I used to also saute onions and peppers until I realized no one ate them but me and they’d get thrown away.  The Things will eat the peppers raw, so now I just cut them up and stick them on a plate and they munch on them before dinner.

1.  Brown and season the beef.  I always use garlic, and sometimes I use black pepper or a dash of oregano or cilantro or whatever floats my boat.
2.  Drain it of fat.
3.  Put it in your crock.
4.  Drain the beans and dump them in.
5.  Tomato sauce, too.   Dump it in, I mean.  Don’t drain it, because you’ll lose all your sauce.  Oh, and when I first started making this dish, I used chunky tomato sauce.  Only no one (including me) likes cooked tomatoes, so now I just use a smooth sauce.
6.  Season it.  Again, with whatever floats your boat.  Garlic, tobasco, adobo, pepper, cilantro, cumin, bananas, chicken, you get the idea.
7.  Mix it up good!

I usually cook mine for about 4 hrs and keep it on the warm setting for another 3.  My crock does this automatically.  I ❤ my crock pot.  Seriously.

Abigail's Awesome Guacamole | Chicklets in the Kitchen

One Thing doesn’t like corn, the other doesn’t like rice, and we don’t really need the extra carbs, so I usually don’t serve side dishes with it.  But I do put out cheese and sour cream.  And, of course the guac.

1 avocado
lime juice
minced garlic
black pepper

Cut the avocado in half, get rid of the pit, then dice it in the peel before squeezing it into a bowl.  Add the seasonings and mix it all together.  It tastes good at this moment, but if you can refrigerate it for at least 20 minutes, it will be FANTASTIC.

The original recipe also called for onions and tomatoes, but that never worked for me.  And sometimes I add cilantro.

Abigail's Awesome Guacamole | Chicklets in the Kitchen

I wish I could tell you the measurements of everything, but I don’t ever measure.  One twist of the black pepper, one shake of cilantro, half a teaspoon of minced garlic. The one you really have to watch is the lime juice.  There’s no recoving from too much, unless you add another avocado and some more seasonings.  Maybe half a teaspoon?  Put some in and mix it around, then taste it and add some more if needed.

Do you have a side dish your family adores?  Share!

8 thoughts on “Chili and Abigail’s Awesome Guacamole

  1. Unfortunately I can’t use garlic because someone in this house (not me) is allergic to it. I’ll add cilantro, basil, turmeric and paprika to mine. I’ve also made it with a mixture of ground beef and ground pork. There’s a local farmer’s market where I can get them organic and fresh. They’ve made wonderful lasagna and meatloaf.

  2. Yay! The recipe I’ve been waiting for! 🙂

    Now I know the secret to Abigail’s chili! Best of all it’s already gluten-free for me!

    You know, it’s already chilly up here. Maybe will have to make some chili tomorrow?!

    • Chili is great when it’s chilly. I say drag out the crock and do it! Let me know how it goes. And we usually just glop the guac on top of the chili, though we do use corn chips on occasion.

      Let me know how it turns out.

  3. I can vouch for Abigail’s guac! I’ve had it and it’s SO good!!!

    I make my chili exactly the same every time, except I never measure the seasonings. I always use onions, garlic, salt, pepper, chili powder, and cajun seasoning. 🙂

  4. Pingback: A real “duh!” moment | Chicklets in the Kitchen

Leave a Reply

