Guest Chick KC Klein and Dark Future

DarkFuture by author KC Klein | Chicklets in the Kitchen

Welcome welcome welcome KC Klein to chickletsinthekitchen.  KC’s debut novel, Dark Future, is available now and – guess what? – one lucky commenter will get an ebook of it!  Who-hoo!   Dark Future is a sexy futuristic time-travel.

KC became serious about writing three years ago and was as surprised as anyone when her stories took a turn toward dark and snarky. Today, she divides her time between taking care of her family and driving in circles around Arizona, too busy creating stories in her head to pay attention to mere road signs. KC would love a visit at kckleinbooks.com.

And guess what?  While Lis’Anne and I have found ways to take the kitchen with us, KC has brought the kitchen to her.  Delight us, KC!

Thanks Abigail for having me as a guest blogger. I would love to give away a copy of my e-book, DARK FUTURE, to one happy commenter, so check back later to see if you’ve won.

KC Klein

In honor of doing the Chicklets in the Kitchen blog, I thought I’d post something kitchen-like. I’m a creative person, but not when it comes to cooking. I pretty much survive on fruit, bagged salad, and frozen dinners or boxed soups. But I have two small people and one big person who started to complain about getting the same crockpot chicken and veggies every night for dinner.

Just the thought of planning, shopping, cooking, and then cleaning up afterwards was enough to send me into panic mode. The dreaded question of “what’s for dinner?” trailed after me like toilet paper on my shoe. Also, add to the fact that I’d rather be writing, well, you can see my dilemma.

That’s when I found out about Dream Dinners. Now, I know I sound like a dreaded info-commercial, but when I find something I like, be it a book or product, I tell people about it. Basically, it’s a store where you order your meals, make an appointment, and then assemble twelve dinners in about one hour. They’ve done all the prep work for you. All you have to do is put the ingredients in a Ziploc bag, take it home, freeze, and then take out the dinner when you are ready to cook.

I love the process. The eternal question of “what’s for dinner?” is finally answered. What’s even better, if I am on deadline or buried under revisions, my husband can take out a dinner and cook it up in no time.

Where KC Writes

I think every mom, but especially writing moms, need to have tricks and tips to make the most of their time. This has worked for me, so much so, that I’ve found the time to write three books and I’m starting on my fourth.

So do any of you have any tips to share? I could use any advice…I’m all ears!

24 thoughts on “Guest Chick KC Klein and Dark Future

  1. KC, thanks for stopping by! I love those places that do all the work for you. When I had surgery a few years ago, I stocked up. Left to his own devices, Husband is a big fan of fast food and I was going to be off my feet for at least two weeks if not more. And the dishes are tasty, too, and you can leave out anything you don’t like (olives).

    Sometimes I try to make dinner the night before, like the tuna noodlerific, or crock it like you. In fact, I have a corned beef calling for the crock right now. Mmmmmm… ruebens.

  2. Is this a local program only in your part of Arizona? It sounds like a real timesaver.

    I’d love to read your book, as it sounds right up my literary alley, so please enter me in the drawing. (After all, who doesn’t like to win?)

  3. Too funny. I love the idea. Once I tried a cook book called “Once A Month Cooking” The concept was that on a Sunday afternoon you cold make and freeze a variety of meals that used similar ingredients to prepare. The volume approach by chopping all the celery and onions for the whole mass. etc.

    It worked pretty good…except…. cilantro really shouldn’t be used in the same quantities as parsley. just sayin. I still hate the taste of cilantro. LOL

  4. I think they have this in my area, but I haven’t checked it out yet. Probably one of the reasons my husband asked me to marry him was, he knew I liked to get creative in the kitchen. ::wink:: Not in a 9 1/2 Weeks kind of way, but…well okay maybe… 😉

    Seriously, I have fun there. It’s like a bartender with a stocked bar, you want to see what you can put together in just the right combinations to make something people will moan with delight over. Sadly, my sister in law is a better cook than I am. I’ve had Thanksgiving at her house, and the flavor of her melt-in-your-mouth turkey is still etched in my memory. I can never do as well, but knock wood, I have yet to come up with a shoe leather turkey like my ex MIL. 🙂

    And lookie lookie, it’s dinner time…

  5. We have one of these dream dinner places near me, just watch out for the calorie counts. The one dinner available the time I looked into it was over 800 calories per serving. Yikes, that doesn’t help the middle

    • HA! I know. I always take into consideration the calories before I order the meal. My family might not mind, but I am on weight watchers and gotta watch the points. 🙂

  6. Hi KC! I’m glad you stopped by the Chicks today; sorry I’m so late getting here. It seems to be how I roll these days.

    “…trailed after me like toilet paper on my shoe” made me laugh!

    To answer your question, I keep a bunch of microwave dinners on hand so when I don’t feel like cooking my family can pick whatever they want and cook it themselves. 😉 There are a ton of healthy choices out there and with the use of coupons they’re quite affordable.

  7. Hmmm. I’ll have to look into this idea around here. I’m lucky in that my hubby does most of the cooking, and he’s pretty danged good at it (as my waistline constantly reminds me). But every now and then I like to mess around in the kitchen. But I really hate the chopping part. I like to just be at the stove and adding the different ingredients. So this might be right up my ally. Thanks!

    Good luck with Dark Future!!
    Maura

      • I’ve got me one of those. Yep, he’s right handy in the kitchen. Which is good, ’cause I do not enjoy cooking. Don’t get me wrong. I can do it, sometimes even well, but it’s solely a subsistence thing for me. So you can imagine how much I appreciate my friends/family who really cook!

Leave a Reply

