Gluten-Free On The Road

It’s the week before Thanksgiving and unlike most of America, I’m traveling this week and not next. Why, you may ask?

We’re combining the holiday with a family vacation! Sea World here we come. πŸ™‚

Chester: The Coastal Cruising Pup

So, we’re loading up the Mazda and hitting the road.

For the fifteen hour trek, my car will have two adults, two boys, and one very active Pomeranian. Here’s his picture…isn’t he cute?!

Anyway, eating out is always hard when you’re Gluten-Free. Now that I’m watching my cholesterol too, it’s doubly fun.

So, here’s what I’m doing. Behind the front passenger’s seat is a cooler. It will be loaded with blueberries, grapes, pears, apples, slicedΒ  strawberries, low-fat cheese, carrots, celery, juice drinks, and strawberry/blueberry tea.

Behind the driver’s seat will be a bag with dried goods.Β  In there, will be containers of pistachios, almonds, crackers, and chips. Just don’t tell my boys the chips are Veggie! πŸ™‚

There’s no way we can get around stopping the car at least twice during the long haul from Virginia to Florida. We’ll need to purchase lunch and dinner. But, with our handy GPS, we’ll be able to locate restaurants that gluten-free friendly (even if the restaurants lack a true Gluten-Free menu).

Fruity Pebbles Treats

But between meal breaks, the snacks are healthy.Β  Or healthy-ish. πŸ™‚ Since my boys–like most other children out there–don’t want solely healthy snacks, I’ve also made Fruity Pebbles and Rice Krispies Treats. (Shhh…don’t tell them there are vitamins in the Fruity Pebbles or that I made the Rice Krispies Treats from brown rice!)

Since ya’ll know I simply cannot abide a life devoid of chocolate, a bag semi-sweet morsels will be in the glove compartment of the car. Hey, they’re lower in saturated fat, but still rich in chocolaty goodness.

I’ll be back next week with my contribution to Thanksgiving dinner. How to have a traditional (sort of) dessert without sacrificing taste!

Ciao!

 

12 thoughts on “Gluten-Free On The Road

  1. I hope you’re happy — now I need to make fruity pebbles treats or rice krispies treats or something. Sheesh!

    Have a GREAT trip πŸ™‚ Sea World is wonderful. My kids all loved it. If you end up at any Disney properties while you’re in Orlando, they are awesome at working with people who have food restrictions of any kind. I actually saw them taking a family from warming table to warming table at a buffet last weekend, pointing out what they could and could not eat.

    Have fun and safe travels!

    • They took folks from table to table…wow! Now that is what I call customer service!

      The boys are so excited, I don’t think they’re going to sleep tonight or tomorrow night. Last night the six-year-old stayed up cleaning his room because I told him it had to be straightened before we left for vacation. Guess, he hoped by cleaning last night, we’d leave a day early.

      I wish! πŸ™‚

      • Yeah, the customer service at Disney is basically rivaled by no other, at least at the scale that they are working at.

        If you ever make reservations on the phone for one of their restaurants, one of the standard questions that is asked every time is if there are any food allergies for any of the guests.

        Also, if you ever have the chance (and I HIGHLY recommend it) to go dine at Victoria & Albert’s (this would be a date night kind of thing for a special occasion… no kids, etc.) ask to be provided a vegetarian menu as well. They really do have two menus, and even if you are not vegetarian, if you have both menus you can pick and choose from either one for each of your courses, and they will be happy to take care of you.

      • Wow! We’ll have to put Victoria & Albert’s on our list for next time. We’ll definitely have little ones with us this time around.

        Thanks for the tip! πŸ™‚

  2. I’m so glad I don’t have to worry about food restrictions when traveling – actually, I take that back. Thing 1 has braces and can’t have gummy or sticky foods, so as long as we stay away from Swedish Fish World, we’re okay.

    Have fun!

  3. Ummm…don’t forget to take them out when you get there or you’ll have a bag of melted chocolate – especially if you leave your car parked in the sun!

    Have a fun, safe drive!

  4. Now if you were on the West coast I could tell you all about which markets, which restaurants, etc. are well known for gluten-free products. I’m new to being GF but loving how my system feels. TMI? : )

    • Welcome to being Gluten-Free, Robena! I understand exactly what you mean about feeling better. πŸ™‚

      I may just ask you about places on the West Coast next summer. RWA’s National Conference will be in CA in July and I’m trying to finagle a way out there. If I can manage it, it would help to know where I can eat! πŸ™‚

      Thanks for commenting.

Leave a Reply

