Peanut Butter Pie…Gluten-Free Style

Every year for Thanksgiving I make pies. I’ve never made traditional pies. I can’t blame it on being gluten-free. Honestly, my pie crusts never turned out well. If it wasn’t one of those refrigerated-roll-out kind of crusts, my crusts were horrible. That is until I learned to use the graham cracker crusts.

And now I’m gluten-free, so that shortcut won’t work anymore. But recently, while attending a workshop in Florida, I had a chance to brainstorm crust alternatives with a friend and the answer she presented was so simple, I had to try it.

CHOCOLATE! Yes, a crust made of pure chocolate. (Okay, not PURE, pure.) I melted semi-sweet morsels, poured them into a pie pan, then placed the pan in the freezer overnight. The next day, the crust was ready to use. Mind you…it won’t work for a baked pie, but for a pudding pie or cheesecake, it’s AWESOME!

Check out my first experiment.

Peanut Butter Dream Whip Pie

1 C Powdered Sugar

1/2 C Milk

8 oz Cream Cheese

1/2 C Peanut Butter

8 oz Cool Whip

1/2 Bag Semi-Sweet Morsels

Crust:

In a double-boiler, melt chocolate until smooth. Pour into a pie pan. Spread chocolate evenly up the sides of the pan with a spoon. Once thoroughly coated, place in freezer at least four hours.

*Tip* Don’t spread the chocolate too thickly, or you’ll need a steak knife to cut through the crust. 🙂

Filling:

Mix powdered sugar in milk until completely dissolved. In a large bowl beat cream cheese, peanut butter and milk mixture on medium speed for at least two minutes. Add cool whip until well-blended.

Pour filling into pie pan and chill for at least two hours. Top with shaved semi-sweet chocolate.

Slice and serve. 🙂

Next week, I’ll post my recipe for my famous chocolate-dipped Spritz cookies.

7 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Pie…Gluten-Free Style

    • Glutton…Gluten! It’s all good. 🙂

      Wanna know a secret? I hate peanut butter. It’s true. But my husband and sons love it. I wanted to surprise them this year with something they’d enjoy. In the end, this recipe wasn’t too peanut-buttery and with the chocolate shell, it was like a whipped Reece’s Peanut Butter Cup.

  1. And how strange is this? I love peanut butter, but don’t like peanut butter pie. Everyone in my fam loves it though, so if there happens to come a day when I’m feeling very loving, kind, and generous I just might make it for them! *grin*

  2. Pingback: Note to Self | Chicklets in the Kitchen

Leave a Reply

