Gluten-Free Girl & The Holiday Spritz Cookie

Last year, I made these TOO DIE FOR spritz cookies. I found the recipe in a little half-sized magazine at the check-out line then proceeded to experiment. Once I had the recipe exactly as I wanted it, I made notes in the margin of the book and put it back on the recipe shelf for this winter.

Over the summer, while I was in New York City, my husband decided to help me and clean.

Can you guess where this is going? If you think he tossed out all my cooking magazines because they looked ratty, you’d be right.

So, here I am trying to remember what I did from a year ago. I do have a recipe to share, but it’s still not quite there. Then again, maybe you’re like me and will take a recipe and tweak it until you love it too. If you are, then this recipe is for you!

The Semi-Good-Needs-Tweaking Chocolate-Dipped Spritz Cookie

3 Sticks softened Butter

2 C Sugar

1 C All-Purpose Gluten-Free Flour

1 1/2 C Garbanzo Bean Flour

1 Large Egg

2 TBSP Milk

1 tsp Vanilla Extract

1/2 tsp Almond Extract

1 tsp Baking Powder

1 Bag Semi-Sweet Morsels

Holiday-themed Sprinkles

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Line ungreased cookie sheets with aluminum foil, shiny side up.

In a medium bowl, mix all-purpose flour, garbanzo bean flour and baking powder. Set aside.

In a large bowl, blend butter and sugar until fluffy. Mix in egg, vanilla, almond extract and milk. Once well blended, add in flour mixture 1/3 at a time.

Spoon dough into a cookie press. Press cookies onto pre-lined sheets. Bake 7-9 minutes or until edges are lightly golden.

Once cookies are cool, melt chocolate in a double boiler. (You can do it in the microwave, but be careful not to cook too long or you’ll risk burning the chocolate.)

Dip cookies into melted chocolate one at a time. Top with sprinkles. Set on cookie sheet to harden.

Keep in an air-tight container. Cookies will last about a week.

Makes 7-8 dozen cookies.

 

4 thoughts on “Gluten-Free Girl & The Holiday Spritz Cookie

    • I’m pretty sure it’s a cookie that you can put in a cookie press. But I could be wrong. 🙂

      I’d never had a cookie press before last year. I love it! I used it for every holiday until the summer started.

      • You’re absolutely right, Lis!

        That’s how I found out my husband had thrown the recipe book out.

        My son wanted flag cookies for July 4th. It’s just taken me this long to find a recipe I semi-liked. 🙂

Leave a Reply

