Butterscotch Meringue Cookies

Something you should know about me – I’m a dork. Big-time! You may have already figured that out, mind you, but… yeah. Anyway, one of my children’s favorite songs is Prince’s Starfish and Coffee. If you haven’t listened to it before, you should. It’s amazing! We actually have a kid cd with a version of it performed by Matt Nathanson (whom I adore), and that’s really good as well.

Prince performing Starfish and Coffee!!

One day in the car, after listening to the song for the umpteenth time, an idea began to worm its way into my brain. Monday? That was brought to fruition. My first step was to find a starfish cookie cutter. Took a while, but I finally found one on Amazon (When shopping on Amazon, I refuse to buy anything that my Amazon Prime won’t ship; it took a few weeks before one popped up that was Prime eligible). Sunday night, I baked meringue cookies with butterscotch chips.

Monday morning, I made pancakes and then carefully cut them out with the cookie cutter. I mixed a small bit of instant decaf coffee into a huge mug o’ hot cocoa which was then divided among three kid-sized mugs (real coffee for the grownups). Of course, on the table, there was maple syrup and jam (strawberry if you’re interested). My butterscotch meringues sure looked like clouds! And then there were clementine tangerines and some thin-sliced Virginia ham that I’d fried up.

Et voila!!

 

A not-very-good picture of Starfish, Butterscotch Clouds, Tangerine, and a Side Order of Ham!

Starfish and coffee, maple syrup and jam
Butterscotch clouds, tangerine, side order of ham…

My children declared it the BEST BREAKFAST EVER! 🙂  Success!

I’m including the recipe for the meringues, which were cloyingly sweet. I might use half the chips if you’re doing butterscotch, but chocolate chips would probably be okay in the quantity listed 🙂

Emeril’s Meringues!

2 large egg whites, at room temperature
1/2 teaspoon cream of tartar
2/3 cup superfine granulated sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup butterscotch chips
(the original recipe called for a cup of chocolate chips instead of butterscotch. AND a cup of finely chopped nuts. I just modified it for my purposes!)

  • Preheat the oven to 300.
  • In the bowl of an electric mixer, beat egg whites until foamy.
  • Add the cream of tartar and beat until fluffy but not at all dry. (Be careful not to over beat.)
  • Add the sugar gradually, about 3 tablespoons at a time. When 1/2 of the sugar has been added, add the vanilla extract.
  • Continue beating and adding remaining sugar in batches, until all of the sugar is dissolved and the meringue is very shiny and tight. (I wasn’t sure what this meant, so I made sure it was shiny and looked well-mixed. I’d probably do it a bit longer next time. make sure it’s not TOOOOO gooey!)
  • Gently fold in the chocolate chips and chopped nuts.
  • Working one teaspoon at a time, push a teaspoonful of meringue from the tip of 1 teaspoon with the back of another teaspoon onto parchment-lined baking sheets, leaving one inch of space between cookies.
  • Place baking sheets in the preheated oven and turn the oven off.
  • Leave the cookies (undisturbed) in the oven for at least 2 hours and up to overnight, or until cookies are crisp and dry.
  • (The recipe says that it makes around 40. Mine made 25. That could’ve been the problem as well — they were fairly large!)

Love love love making silly meals! Have you ever made a meal inspired by something in a book, movie, song, etc? I’d love to hear about it…

 

3 thoughts on “Butterscotch Meringue Cookies

  1. How fun, Lizzie! I haven’t heard the song before.

    As for meal inspirations, I’m fairly certain I’ve done the green eggs thing (but probably with bacon), but I can’t remember. And I know I’ve done others, but I can’t remember what!!! And now this is going to kill me until I remember. Thanks a lot! *grin*

  2. My 3-1/2 yr. old daughter also loves the Prince song! She’s been singing it all day today and I thought I’d see about making some ” butterscotch clouds” because that sounds so yummy. I googled “butterscotch clouds” and the image of your breakfast was one of the first that came up! As soon as I saw your spread I knew instantly that you must be a fan of the song, too. How can you mistake seeing “starfish & coffee, maple syrup & jam, butterscotch clouds, tangerine & a side order of ham”? Love it! Oh, for the record, you can actually MAKE those starfish pancakes by spraying the inside surfaces of the cookie cutter with PAM (if metal, not plastic) and pouring the batter into the form on the skillet. Once you get the bubbly edges, remove the form & flip.

Leave a Reply

