Gluten-Free Takes The Simple Route

Hi Gluten-Free Folks! This week I’m not doing a recipe. I know I usually do one but this week, I don’t have one.

Instead, I’m going to share a tip with you. Sometimes the simplest route is the tastiest. While getting ready for a large family Christmas celebration, I needed to come up with a dessert that was quick, yummy and of course, gluten-free.Β  (Because if I’m going to serve anything with chocolate, you know I must be able to sample it myself!) πŸ™‚

I stumbled across dark chocolate cups on sale at the local grocery and scanned the ingredients. Imagine my joy when I learned I could make chocolate mousse cups in dark chocolate shells and NOT need to modify them.

Yes folks! They were gluten-free without my adjusting anything.

Just three cups of heavy whipping cream, 3 tablespoons of warm water, 6 mousse packets and standing at the mixer for fifteen minutes and voila! Mousse ready to fill the pre-made dark chocolate cups. Chill for at least 30 minutes and this what you get…

Now I added fresh strawberries to some but not others (because of allergies) but you can be creative. Whipped topping, blueberries, blackberries, even sliced bananas can add to this tasty treat.

Now if you cannot find these pre-made cups at your grocery, then you can make them easily. Simply use a double-boiler to melt semi-sweet morsels then spoon the melted chocolate into mini-muffin tins. Place the muffin tins in the freezer for about an hour (or until frozen). Up-end the tin and carefully remove the chocolate cups. You can fill them with Jell-O Brand mousse or you’re favorite homemade mousse. πŸ™‚

No matter how you do it, don’t forget to set aside some for yourself because these babies go fast! πŸ™‚

5 thoughts on “Gluten-Free Takes The Simple Route

  1. These look awesome, Mary! I want some! I’ve never seen the chocolate cups at the store, but then I’ve not been looking for them. Of course, making them wouldn’t be too difficult. Would you have to spray the mini-muffin tin or would they just fall out effortlessly?

Leave a Reply

