Gluten-Free Girl and Retreat Food

Last weekend, I went on a writer’s retreat with a friend. Since our goal was to spend as much time as possible writing, I needed plan for meals that were simple and quick to prepare.

Our menu went something like this.

Breakfasts consisted of yogurt and Cinnamon Chex.

Lunches were fresh, raw vegetables, luncheon meats (turkey and salami), Colby jack and pepper jack cheeses, rice cakes, and grapes.

Snacks ranged from dried banana chips to chocolate. (Heavy on the chocolate, in my case! :))

But dinners were my favorite. Friday night was easy. A roaster chicken from the local grocery store, canned corn and a bag of instant mashed potatoes.

Saturday night was the one time, I actually spent time in the kitchen. Still, the meal I prepared was my go-to meal. Alfredo Sauce with peas, carrots and mushrooms over Gluten-Free Fusili. It was hot, yummy and gave me just enough of a break that I was ready to write for another two hours after the dishes were done.

So what’s your go-to meal when you need to get in some serious work time?

8 thoughts on “Gluten-Free Girl and Retreat Food

  1. If I know I’ll be in a time crunch, I take out my trusty crock pot. Dinner would most likely be chili or slacker chicken. Or I’ll make Tuna Noodleriffic the night before.

    If I’m surprised by a time crunch, I’d most likely do the pasta route, too. With apple slices on the side – red for Thing 1, green for Thing 2.

    I ❤ alfredo. YUM.

    • I have a very pretty crock pot. I’ve used it once–on a frozen, bagged meal back when I still ate gluten.

      I would love to learn how to use a crock pot for meals that are not frozen and filled with delicious but pain-inducing items such as pasta.

      Maybe you could post recipes that even the gluten-free gods would approve of?? (hint, hint) 🙂

  2. My go-to would be anything I could convince someone else in my house to make for me! 😉 Seriously, I go for tomato soup and grilled cheese. I LOVE it and thankfully all my guys do to.

    What’s your Alfredo recipe? I make mine with a stick of butter, 1 can of evaporated milk and 1/2 of a container of shredded Parmesan cheese. Middle son uses heavy whipping cream and a bottle of grated parm. I’ve never heard of putting peas in it! I bet broccoli would be good in it, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

