Gluten-Free & The Hawaiian Birthday Dinner

Last Saturday was my son’s seventh birthday. He requested a Hawaiian Luau for his party, complete with an authentic Hawaiian dinner. So I did the hard part. You guessed it, I ordered decorations from an on-line store and left the cooking to my husband.

He perused websites searching for a recipe similar to one we’d tasted when we went to Oahu in 2008 (sans children) and in true Gluten-Free family fashion, made it his own. Everyone, including the birthday boy, LOVED it.

If you’re not a fish person, don’t worry! Mahi Mahi is a mild fish that easily absorbs the flavor of the spices served with it. Best of all, it’s Gluten-Free! Next week, I’ll share the Hawaiian Rice Pilaf he made from scratch! šŸ™‚

Macadamia Nut-Encrusted Mahi Mahi

Ingredients:
Mahi MahiĀ FiletĀ  Ā 1.5lbs
Macadamia nuts Ā 1 cup
Salt (sea) – Ā  Ā  Ā  Ā Ā  1 tsp
GroundĀ GingerĀ -1 tsp
Ground Garlic 1 tsp
Preheat oven to 350F

Combine all ingredients except the Fish in a foodĀ processor. Pulse until combined and finely chopped. Lay a baking rack on a cooking sheet. Lightly Grease (cooking spray). Lay filet on rack. Sprinkle nut mixture on fish, carefully spreading it across the filet. Bake for 10-20 min depending on filet thickness. Fish should be flaky when cooked.

3 thoughts on “Gluten-Free & The Hawaiian Birthday Dinner

  1. So you’re sure mahi-mahi *isn’t* dolphin? I heard that rumor once and couldn’t get it out of my head.

    I’m toying with the idea of going pescetarian, meaning a vegetarian who eats fish. Not having an easy time wrapping it around my head, though, since it’s still a living thing, but I bet I could adapt your recipt to use portobello mushrooms or eggplant instead of fish. I *love* cooking with nuts! It never ceases to amaze me how something I consider a snack food can really put a great twist on a meal.

    Thanks for sharing, Mary! Can’t wait to see this rice pilaf recipe!

Leave a Reply

