Gluten-Free Girl Is Back With 5 Lessons Learned

Hello Chicklet Peeps! I’ve missed you.

Sorry I’ve been away, but life sometimes gets in the way of doing the things we love. Like blogging! 🙂

But now I’m back to share my dining out experiences over the past few weeks. For those who don’t know, I’ve spent the last two months of my life traveling on an almost daily basis between three different states. Some days, I drove six hours round trip only to spend two at my destination.

Needless to say, I ate out A LOT! Since the two grocery stores that carry my gluten-free products were in the opposite direction of my daily destination, I haven’t seen them in quite awhile. 😦 But I did learn a few things about dining out while gluten-free.

First, to all those folks who think it’s impossible to order gluten-free at the average fast food place…guess again. Granted, it’s a pain but it can be done. 🙂 Okay, so you have to order the food as if you’re on a low-carb diet, but at least the average cashier understood why I ordered no bun on my grilled chicken sandwich when I did that. Although, the looks I got when I ordered french fries with my salad (sans dressing) were pretty funny. 🙂 *Just remember to watch the fried foods when eating out. It’s way too easy to elevate cholesterol levels.

Second, more chain restaurants are providing gluten-free menus than ever before. Still, I did have to explain to a sweet young server at one national chain restaurant the definition of Gluten-Free. Once she understood that it was a problem with wheat, she suddenly found a gluten-free menu. Now, I did point out that gluten can be found in beer, soups and other inconspicuous places. But she walked away educated and I had a lovely Chinese shrimp salad!

Third, my Gluten-Free Food Finder App rocks! If you’re gluten-free and have a smart phone, definitely download the app. Depending on how long ago it was updated, it may not have the most current list of gluten-free foods at a national chain restaurant, but even slightly outdated, the menus are very helpful! 🙂

Fourth, in a pinch sometimes stopping at the local gas and shop offers a wider variety of healthy foods. Aside from nuts, there are usually fresh fruits, freshly grilled chicken, deli meats and cheeses, rice cakes and more. Just remember to read the labels of any pre-packaged item before you buy.

Finally, I should’ve never traveled without my daily stash of baked goods. It’s almost impossible to find a cookie or yummy treat that doesn’t have wheat in it. And let’s face, when on the go, we all need our comfort foods. 🙂

So, the first thing I did (after I slept for about a week) when I returned home, was made my favorite Fruity Pebbles Treats.

And I can’t believe I’m saying this, but I’m off again this weekend. I’ll pop back in next week with my recipe for homemade Vegetable Crab Soup. (But I have to test it out on my writing buddy this weekend first!) 🙂

10 thoughts on “Gluten-Free Girl Is Back With 5 Lessons Learned

    • Thanks for the warm welcome, y’all.

      Blue Crab is a delicacy in my house, since I’m the only one not allergic to it. Although, portabella mushrooms sound like a yummy substitution. 🙂

  1. Welcome back Mary! *marching band in background*

    The good thing about your travels is that you do manage your eating pretty good.
    Lots of places are listing a variety of items for their patrons….YAY!!

    I happen to be lucky ~crossing fingers, knocking on wood~ that I haven’t any food issues yet. I need to watch my eating habits a bit more than usual, but I can and do eat a lot of different foods.

    I always look forward to the recipes all you gals post here, always something new for me. 🙂 Looking to next week to see your recipe on homemade Vegetable Crab Soup.

    Have a great weekend ladies!

    • Hi Dahlia,

      Thanks for posting! You’re lucky that you don’t have food issues.

      And while some restaurants are catering to people with food alleriges, Gluten-Free is still new.

      For example: I tried to register for a conference a few minutes ago and there were four meal options, Regular, Vegan, Vegetarian and Diabetic.

      That left me out entirely!

  2. I’m so glad to “see” you, Miss Mary! We’ve missed you, but everyone understands family and work must take precedence.

    Like Dalila, no one in my house has any special food needs, but we can all use help with finding healthier choices when on the road. Thanks for the great tips!

Leave a Reply

