Special Guest Travis Mullins: Roasted Red Pepper and Artichoke Chicken Wraps

Hi everyone! I was raised by a professional chef step-father, who instilled a great love of food in me at a young age (I’ll never forget being maybe 7 years old and loving his stuffed mushrooms) and whose family also helped to teach me great love for cooking.

My father, while he wasn’t around, was a professional chef as well, so I’m guessing food and cooking is in my heart as well as my blood. I now work for a security company in the greater Cincinnati area as a night manager/trainer and at times work as an armed security professional and I work many very long days. So, when I do get time off of work I prefer to spend that time cooking as much as possible. It brings me great joy to see people enjoy my creations. One day I hope to instill the love of food and cooking into my own children as well.

Roasted Red Pepper and Artichoke Chicken Wraps

Ingredients:
1 1/2 to 2 lbs of Chicken (breast or thigh your choice)
1 cup of chopped roasted pablano peppers
1 cup of chopped artichoke hearts
1 1/2 cups of chopped roasted red bell peppers
1/2 cup of chopped black olives
1/2 cup of chopped green olives
2 finely chopped cloves of garlic
1/2 cup of grated parmesan cheese
1 tsp of crushed red pepper flakes (optional)
6 tbsp of olive oil
salt and pepper to taste

Directions:
Mix all ingredients (with the exception of the chicken and reserving 2 tbsp of olive oil for the end) and lightly sautΓ©. If using chicken breast, place breast between 2 sheets of plastic wrap and pound flat. If using chicken thighs, butterfly them. Stuff butterflied or flattened chicken with mixture and roll or close up, using toothpicks to secure, and place in oven safe dish. Use leftover mixture to pack around chicken. Lightly coat chicken with 2 tbsp of olive oil. Cover with aluminum foil place in 350 degree oven for 50 to 60 minutes or until internal temperature of chicken reaches 165 degrees.

I hope you try it and enjoy!

Roasted Red Pepper and Artichoke Chicken Wraps
Recipe Type: Main Dish
Cuisine: Gluten-Free; Low Carb
Author: Travis Mullins | Chicklets in the Kitchen
Prep time: 30 mins
Cook time: 1 hour
Total time: 1 hour 30 mins
Serves: 6
Ingredients
  • 1 1/2 to 2 lbs of Chicken (breast or thigh your choice)
  • 1 cup of chopped roasted pablano peppers
  • 1 cup of chopped artichoke hearts
  • 1 1/2 cups of chopped roasted red bell peppers
  • 1/2 cup of chopped black olives
  • 1/2 cup of chopped green olives
  • 2 finely chopped cloves of garlic
  • 1/2 cup of grated parmesan cheese
  • 1 tsp of crushed red pepper flakes (optional)
  • 6 tbsp of olive oil
  • salt and pepper to taste
Instructions
  1. Mix all ingredients (with the exception of the chicken and reserving 2 tbsp of olive oil for the end) and lightly sautΓ©.
  2. If using chicken breast, place breast between 2 sheets of plastic wrap and pound flat. If using chicken thighs, butterfly them.
  3. Stuff butterflied or flattened chicken with mixture and roll or close up, using toothpicks to secure, and place in oven safe dish.
  4. Use leftover mixture to pack around chicken.
  5. Lightly coat chicken with 2 tbsp of olive oil.
  6. Cover with aluminum foil place in 350 degree oven for 50 to 60 minutes or until internal temperature of chicken reaches 165 degrees.

 

26 thoughts on “Special Guest Travis Mullins: Roasted Red Pepper and Artichoke Chicken Wraps

  1. Ooh, Travis, this sounds YUMMY – aside from the poblano peppers. Me and spice, we broke up a few years ago and now I can’t stand it be around it. *grin*

    When I read “wraps,” I thought this was gonna be a sandwich! I can imagine the leftovers in a wrap, though. Mmmmm…..

  2. I’m not a big fan of really spicy things myself, that why I used pablano peppers… they’re very mild but full of flavor…. if you wanted less spicy I would omit the crushed red pepper flakes πŸ™‚

  3. Thank you so much for sharing this, Travis! Those vegetables look beautiful–almost like confetti! The way you’ve made this, the chicken looks very tender and juicy. I can’t wait to give it a try.

    I was a tad bit worried about the heat level, too. The boys love all things screaming hot, but not me. I can handle a little, though. I’ll use the pablanos but leave out the red pepper flakes. The guys can just sprinkle some on their own. πŸ™‚

    • You could also wrap your Chicken wraps with bacon….. they would like that, i’m sure. Bacon makes everything better. πŸ™‚

      • OMGsh, bacon is the bomb! Have you seen the new bacon seasoning? You just sprinkle it on like any other seasoning. I keep forgetting to look for it at the store.

      • You can just about find bacon flavored anything these days…… from ice cream to alcohol and many things inbetween. Pretty much anywhere your tastes my lay.

  4. Yeah, poblanos are relatively mild in comparison to most peppers, and will add a sweetness to the dish.

    If you do want to actually spice it up a bit, use the red pepper flakes as suggested. If you want to go more, use some diced up jalapenos or perhaps some sambal oeleck in the dish. Try to avoid using habaneros or tabasco sauce, as that will change the flavor of the dish significantly (I don’t even have tabasco sauce in the kitchen these days because it is such a strong ingredient in terms of taste.)

    Yes, these would work wonderfully as leftovers in actual wraps… just slice them up into strips and you are good to go as an ingredient.

    One other item: If you were to omit the olives (like I would, since I am not a fan of olives), remember to add some salt to the filling otherwise it will turn out somewhat bland. The olives have quite a bit of salt typically, which is why you don’t need it when they are in the mix. The artichoke hearts (assuming canned) will have some salt, but not quite enough.

    Some alternatives you might think about using instead of olives (hey, I am being olive-centric here, since I don’t like them!):

    – Diced mushrooms
    – Anchovies (you won’t need salt with these either, and the anchovies will sort of melt away during the saute phase, leaving a salty, nutty taste)
    – Bacon! πŸ™‚

    • Good point on the salt…. without the green olives you would need more salt. πŸ™‚ I also thought about using Nopales as opposed to Plabano peppers… and mushrooms would be a great idea!

  5. One other point concerning the artichoke hearts… I am assuming you are using canned artichoke hearts, but which kind? They come in two varieties:

    – Canned/bottled in water
    – Canned/bottled in oil

    Which do you use?

      • Sure, it’s really easy actually. Just remove the top of the artichoke until you see the choke (the kind of furry interior part), then remove the choke with maybe a melon baller or something similar. Then just clean up the outside removing the “petals”, boil and enjoy. πŸ™‚

      • In general, I’ve noticed that people seem to be afraid of fresh artichoke, but they’re super easy to work with and using fresh vegatables is always the best way to go… with this recipe everything was fresh, I even roasted the peppers myself.

  6. Roasting peppers in your home is a much cheaper alternative to buying roasted peppers in a jar, and it’s really relatively easy to do. You’ll need an open flame, I cook with gas so that’s easy for me, just set your pepper directly on the flame, completely blacking the skin (rotating to a new side one the side nearest the flame is solid black and burnt) then place in a bowl covered with plastic wrap. Now what sitting in this covered bowl does is allows the steam to build up kind of releasing the skin from the pepper. After it cools a bit remove your pepper to a cutting board and remove the top and seeds and chopped to whatever size you want. And there you go…. home roasted pepper. (Just fyi, you can roast just about any kind of pepper, but beware the extremely spicy ones.) πŸ™‚

    • I forgot to mention, after removing peppers from the covered bowl you need to remove the freshly blackened skin, before removing top and seeds. The skin will rub off with relative ease, you could use some slightly running hot water to help the process of removing the skin. If you do this in the sink make sure to do it over a colander… you don’t want the skin of the pepper clogging your drain. πŸ™‚

  7. Howdy!
    Just a quick note to let you know that I made the Roasted Red Pepper and Artichoke Chicken Wraps……major yummy!!
    Thank you Travis for sharing your recipe with us!
    Only made two changes…..I just used a little bit garlic because as much as we love garlic, it doesn’t love us. I also used less of the red pepper flakes, hubby’s not really a fan of those little guys.

  8. What a great talent this man is! Right! I watch week after weeks as he post beautiful amazing dishes on his social network site. They all look so colorful and delicious. I don’t think theres much this guy couldn’t do, from rockin a room with his tunes to melting hearts with his cooking. Travis has skill all around. A very unique and artistic Travis seems to have world in his hands.

Leave a Reply

