Disney’s Marinated Chicken Breast & Vegetable Faro Risotto

You may or may not have realized this from previous comments made, but my house is one of Disney fanatics. When one grows up just a few hours south of The Happiest Place on Earth, as I and my children all have, it becomes either hated and overdone or else a true haven. For us it has always been the latter. For my children, as for myself when I was a child, vacations are usually spent in Orlando, gleefully plotting out our path of destruction (ok, maybe not destruction. Though with the Teensy Bitsy one around…).

With Ariel at Epcot's Norway! | Chicklets in the Kitchen

With Ariel at Epcot’s Norway!

One part of Disney World that has improved immensely over the years is the food. My mother still doesn’t believe me when I mention a great meal that we’ve had somewhere on Disney property. To her mind, the food is still as awful as it was almost 40 years ago when we first started going. She is, happily, very incorrect in this thought. Over the years, the powers that be have worked to ensure that people will happily spend the exorbitant restaurant prices (and trust me, they are ridiculous!) and – here’s the important part – enjoy it enough to recommend to friends.

We have a few favorite places to dine around the World – a meal with the princesses in Epcot’s Norway is always a treat; Garden Grill, also in Epcot, has long been a favorite (though in the interest of full disclosure, it wasn’t as good last time. Could’ve been a one-time issue, though); Tony’s Town Square in Magic Kingdom has a few things that are decent but not great, but we’ve had the occasional real treat there (our favorite “dining” spot in Magic Kingdom, though, is the Dole Pineapple stand. Dole Whips and/or pineapple juice for everyone!!); Hollywood Studios has a fun spot called ‘50s Prime Time Café that serves up comfort foods and silly fun, but the counter service Commissary in the same park has surprisingly good offerings as well; and Tusker House, an African buffet in Animal Kingdom, is the latest addition to our list.

An interesting thing about the Disney World dining services (in addition to the awesomeness that is their smiling willingness to work with you regarding any food restrictions you may have) is that they LOVE to give you recipes! I know, crazy, right? But it’s true! I discovered this when, during one of our Princess Storybook Dining experiences in Epcot, I commented to the server how much I loved the dish and wished I could have the recipe. She disappeared, returning a short while later with paper and a pen. “Just give me your email address and write down which dish it is you’d like! We’ll email you the recipe in a few days!” I can only imagine how stupid my grin was. Sheesh! But I filled out the paper excitedly, and sure enough, the recipe for “Marinated Chicken Breast with Vegetable Faro Risotto” turned up in my inbox about a week later.

Kids, this is good stuff. REALLY good stuff! So good that I shall share with you the recipe. My entire family becomes rapturous at the thought of me making this for dinner, so it’s a firm fixture in the rotation these days!

Marinated Chicken and Vegetable Faro Risotto (again, I apologize for my truly atrocious photographic skills!)

Marinated Chicken Breast

  • 1 cup of your favorite vinaigrette
  • To taste kosher salt
  • To taste ground black pepper
  • Chicken pieces with skin (it calls for breasts, but I’ve made it with leg quarters as well)
  • ¼ cup olive oil

In a container big enough to hold your chicken pieces and the marinade, put salted/peppered chicken pieces and cover with vinaigrette. Put in refrigerator overnight.

Preheat oven to 350. Heat olive oil in a large skillet (medium temp) Place chicken skin-side down in the pan and sear until the skin is crisp (or at least nicely browned!) Place chicken pieces in baking dish (skin side up this time!) and bake until internal temperature reaches 165 (you know, however long you normally bake chicken!)

Vegetable Faro Risotto

*Please note: I made it their way once. It was yummy! Now, though, I just improvise with whatever veggies and seasonings strike my fancy.

  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • ¼ cup minced shallots
  • ½ cup diced onions
  • 1 tablespoon minced garlic
  • ¼ cup fennel
  • ¼ cup diced leeks
  • 1½ cups faro
  • ½ cup chardonnay
  • 6 cups stock
  • To taste freshly ground pepper
  • To taste kosher salt
  • ½ cup diced yellow squash
  • ½ cup diced zucchini
  • 1 cup sliced asparagus
  • ½ cup chevre goat cheese
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  1. In a large stockpot, heat oil over medium heat.  Add the shallots, onions, fennel, garlic and leeks.  Cook for 2 minutes.
  2. Add the faro and stir to coat with the oil and toast the faro to bring out the natural flavors.
  3. Add the chardonnay and stir until it evaporates.
  4. Stir in the vegetable stock, 2 cups at a time, until faro is tender; you may not use all of the stock (I generally end up using about 5 cups)
  5. Season to taste with kosher salt and pepper.
  6. Stir in squash, zucchini and asparagus.
  7. Cook stirring frequently until vegetables are tender and liquid is absorbed
  8. Stir in goat cheese and butter.

That’s it! The whole recipe for each. VERY easy, very delicious, and they just… gave me the recipe! WOO!

I have since discovered this lovely website: The Official Disney Recipe Database.  They have a crazy number of recipes from the parks, so feel free to poke around and see what you can find!

What theme park — Disney or otherwise — has your favorite food? Have you ever tried to recreate? Tell me all about it!

Marinated Chicken Breast

Marinated Chicken Breast
Recipe Type: Traditional
Cuisine: Main Dish
Author: Lizzie Pierce | Chicklets in the Kitchen
Prep time: 20 mins
Cook time: 40 mins
Total time: 1 hour
Ingredients
  • MARINATED CHICKEN BREAST INGREDIENTS:
  • 1 cup of your favorite vinaigrette
  • To taste kosher salt
  • To taste ground black pepper
  • Chicken pieces with skin (it calls for breasts, but leg quarters work as well)
  • ¼ cup olive oil
  • VEGETABLE FARO RISOTTO INGREDIENTS:
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • ¼ cup minced shallots
  • ½ cup diced onions
  • 1 tablespoon minced garlic
  • ¼ cup fennel
  • ¼ cup diced leeks
  • 1½ cups faro
  • ½ cup chardonnay
  • 6 cups stock
  • To taste freshly ground pepper
  • To taste kosher salt
  • ½ cup diced yellow squash
  • ½ cup diced zucchini
  • 1 cup sliced asparagus
  • ½ cup chevre goat cheese
  • 2 tablespoons butter
Instructions
  1. MARINATED CHICKEN DIRECTIONS:
  2. In a container big enough to hold your chicken pieces and the marinade, put salted/peppered chicken pieces and cover with vinaigrette. Put in refrigerator overnight.
  3. Preheat oven to 350. Heat olive oil in a large skillet (medium temp). Place chicken skin-side down in the pan and sear until the skin is crisp (or at least nicely browned!). Place chicken pieces in baking dish (skin side up) and bake approximately 40 minutes or until internal temperature reaches 165 and juices run clear when cut and meat is white all the way through.
  4. VEGETABLE FARO RISOTTO DIRECTIONS:
  5. In a large stockpot, heat oil over medium heat. Add the shallots, onions, fennel, garlic and leeks. Cook for 2 minutes.
  6. Add the faro and stir to coat with the oil and toast the faro to bring out the natural flavors.
  7. Add the chardonnay and stir until it evaporates.
  8. Stir in the vegetable stock, 2 cups at a time, until faro is tender; you may not use all of the stock (I generally end up using about 5 cups)
  9. Season to taste with kosher salt and pepper.
  10. Stir in squash, zucchini and asparagus.
  11. Cook stirring frequently until vegetables are tender and liquid is absorbed
  12. Stir in goat cheese and butter.

 

8 thoughts on “Disney’s Marinated Chicken Breast & Vegetable Faro Risotto

  1. You’re lucky. I love trying new foods from different places, but the Husband is definitely a burgers and fries kinda guy. Which makes experimenting when we go out a little difficult. But I do the cooking in the house… 🙂

  2. Note here that these are just the parks….

    Disney Dining has a slew of other places available outside of the parks themselves that are quite good. Some of my favourites:

    Boma at Animal Kingdom Lodge. All you can eat buffet with an African theme.
    Citricos at the Grand Floridian
    California Grill at the Contemporary (great sushi!)

    All of those are mid-level cost places (by mid-level, we are talking about $40 a seat or so) and not really places that you would take the kids (but the food is great!)

    Downtown Disney also has a number of places that are quite good to eat out at, including Wolfgang Puck’s and Raglan Road Irish Pub.

    Also, one of my favorite places in the park that has not been mentioned here is Tortuga Tavern in the Magic Kingdom across from Pirates. It is only open seasonally, or on big days, but the taco bar there is wonderful.

    For another quick snack place, I also enjoy getting fish and chips in England at EPCOT. Unfortunately, I now realize that I really don’t need two huge bits of fish and all of those chips, so I find it is better to share one of those with someone else.

    • Oops! I guess I didn’t see this one come in. 🙂

      I agree about the dining outside the parks as well but still on Disney property. The quality of their food has so gone up, and anything I eat and like? I’m going to want to a recipe!

      Will have to try the place by Pirates. I never even knew it was there!

  3. Lizzie, you’re a Disney Doll! Thank you for this recipe! I have chicken leg quarters and we’re all getting sick of me just roasting them in the oven with a few seasonings for flavor.

    I’ve never made risotto–they always make it sound so freaking difficult to do on the cooking shows. Like if you don’t do it just right it’s going to be ruined. Is it possible for me to screw it up?

    I haven’t been to Disney since 1972–other than the RWA conference held at the Dolphin & Swan in 2010. There, I had the most wonderful creamed spinach I’ve ever tasted. I’m heading over to the website you gave to see if it’s included! 🙂

    • Let me know how your family likes the chicken and risotto. The meal has become a staple in our household! er. as has your corn casserole recipe from MLK day 😉

      As for risotto, I always avoided it as well. I’d made it once, years ago, a supposedly easy version that turned out AMAZING. But that was another lifetime ago and i don’t even know where the recipe came from or where it went… This is not quite like risotto. Or, you know, not at all like risotto when you eat it. That being said, it’s amazing .I leave out the cheese altogether, because I found that it made the dish entirely too rich and honestly? Didn’t need it. I also mix it up on the veggies and seasonings in there depending on what sort of marinade I use on teh chicken. Our favorite is asian marinated chicken + shitake/asparagus/zucchini/ginger in the risotto….

      Was the spinach recipe on the website??????

      • I couldn’t find it so I did a google search. Alas, it was not to be found. 😦 I guess I’ll just have to experiment until I come up with my own recipe. 🙂

Leave a Reply

