What are you eating? I want that! NOW!

I am very food-suggestible. To the point that if you mention a food, the odds are I will want it. No, NEED it. Immediately. Like NOW. In fact, the reason I like peaches today is because when I was a kid and totally hating on peaches, I read Roald Dahl’s James and the Giant Peach. The description was such that I needed to eat a peach. Immediately. Luckily, my dad had them in the house, because to this day? Sweet, ripe peaches are one of my favorite fruits.

Peaches!

Donut commercials can cause a detour on my way home. The worst is when it’s a food that is not available or one that is difficult to obtain. Or something I know I shouldn’t be eating (I spent about two hours today craving a Sausage McMuffin and hash browns. I don’t EAT McD’s, but occasionally when someone mentions it, I desperately want…). Or even just something that I don’t feel like making at that moment.

Where does this bring us? On Sunday, my husband and I were watching some travel channel food show that centered on beef. Suddenly, I had to have something beef-related. But what? I don’t remember what made me realize, but it finally hit me… I wanted my thick-sliced roast beef (I say mine, but I modified a recipe given to me by previous Guest Chick Amy Silverstein!). I wasn’t going to do the Yorkshire puddings that are sometimes just needed with it, but Ohhh to have that roast and those potatoes. This was my first try with the sprouts, but it worked beautifully!

 

My roast, potatoes, sprouts and a biscuit!

Roast with potatoes and sprouts!

  • Your favorite roast (I chose a bottom round, about 4lbs)
  • Large can of potatoes, drained (yes, I know, canned potatoes? Trust me – only place I ever use them, but worth it. Also, I usually use 2 big cans because I am obsessed with these potatoes. But I generally have to do a lot of work to fit it all into my biggest pan)
  • 16 oz cleaned fresh brussels sprouts
  • 2 packets onion soup powder
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • paprika
  • chili powder

 

Preheat oven to 375.

Place roast into your BIGGEST roasting pan. Sprinkle the with paprika and chili powder to taste. When I do it, I don’t make it a thick coating, but you can definitely see the stuff. Sprinkle with one packet of the onion soup mix. Don’t stress about what is left in the bottom of the pan – won’t go to waste! In a separate bowl, toss your potatoes and sprouts with olive oil and the remaining packet of onion soup. Pour it all around the roast, making sure to mix up the extra onion soup mix with the veggies in the pan. Cover with foil and roast for about an hour. Uncover and cook for another 20 mins or so, until the potatoes look nice and golden but not so long that the roast looks dried out!

Remove pan from oven and let meat rest for 15 mins before slicing.

Enjoy!

******

Are you food-suggestible? Ever had an experience like my peach story? Or any interesting foods eaten because of food suggestions? Do tell! Or? Make me hungry for foods! Tell me what you’re enjoying lately!

5 thoughts on “What are you eating? I want that! NOW!

  1. OMGsh, I love your canned potatoes and brussels sprouts idea! I only ever use the canned potatoes when I’m making meatloaf. I put them all around the loaf in the roasting pan, salt & pepper, then pour a can of tomato sauce over all. Unbelievably good. I can’t wait to try out my next roast following your recipe! Thanks!

    Bacon definitely calls my name whenever I see it or smell it. I’d walk 20 miles in the snow, up hill, just for a piece of bacon! And Krispy Kreme donuts, too!

    • Really fabulous to roast the potatoes and sprouts. REALLY good. Mmm…

      Your meatloaf recipe sounds good to, with the potatoes and tomato sauce. I love how the drippings from the beef get into the flavors of the potato.

      I TOTALLY feel you on the bacon issue. Everything is better with bacon. In fact, many vegetarians I know say the only thing they truly miss is bacon LOL

      As for KK, I used to be like that. But they closed down EVERY SINGLE KRISPY KREME in my entire county. And it’s a BIG county.

      • Why?! Why would they close all the KKs? I’m so very thankful we have a KK bakery in my town even though I try to avoid it at all cost. We can’t go in and not come out with less than 3 dozen donuts. Insane I tell ya, insane!

Leave a Reply

