Cookbooks and a giveaway

Does anyone else here read cook books like novels?  I thought I was the only one until my Mother-in-Law mentioned she does the same thing.

I just got a new cookbook from a website called SparkPeople (it helps you keep track of your nutrition and fitness).  So many yummy recipes!  I don’t know when I’m going to make them all.

Twice a year our local library sells off donated books.  There are always many cook books to buy.  Sometimes I have to talk myself out of buying one, because, really, you can find almost anything on the Internet.  But then I come down to the same argument that I have against eReaders.  I like BOOKS.

We haven’t done a giveaway in a while, so here we go.  Tell me your favorite cookbook and why, and I’ll send you a former-library copy of the New Elegant But Easy Cookbook.  I have the original (as in, not New) and it has many great recipes in it.

Just a note, though – my Internet access will be spotty this weekend, so I may not be able to comment as much as I’d like.  But comment I will when I can!  Aaaaaaaaaaaaand GO!

7 thoughts on “Cookbooks and a giveaway

  1. OMG, all the time! I read through them like novels before I will ever cook anything from them. It’s… well, like a feeling thing. I need to be connected. LOVE IT!

    Currently reading Christina Tosi’s cookbook. She’s the one from Momofoku Milkbar in NYC — VERY well-known bakery. It’s filled with all sorts of stories and explanations along with the recipes. I am loving it 😀

    • Ooh, bakery cookbooks are dangerous for me – all that sweet stuff that I have to sample! And if there’s chocolate? Whoa.

      …I forgot to mention I’m doing the drawing for the cookbook Wednesday, so there’s plenty of time to comment and win. 🙂

  2. I recuse myself from the competition, since I won the last one, but I still have to reply!

    The answer for favorite cookbook is an easy one for me: The Betty Crocker cookbook.

    I know, I know, it is probably the most widely distributed, widely known cookbook in history, beating out Julia Child’s “Mastering the Art of French Cooking” and Jeltz’s “The Poetry of Vogon Cookery” by a mile (I may have made that last one up), but the recipes in it are laid out very well, it covers pretty much the entire gamut of cooking, and you can base just about anything you actually want to do off of one of the recipes in there. Yes, if you want to get fancy with something and you need a specific technique, you will need one of those other books, but for everyday cooking this one is very hard to beat.

    I find myself constantly pulling it out and looking up things just to get the temperature right on different items, not actually looking at the recipe. Last night I did a baked salmon dish, and I needed the right temperature to bake at (450F!), though I ignored the rest of the recipe because I knew that I was going to brown the non-skin side real quick on a burner in butter, then flip it over onto the skin side, throw a couple small pats of butter on the flesh side, and throw it in the oven for fifteen minutes. It came out perfectly, but had I used a temperature of, say, 350F, it would have taken longer and possibly been dried out, something I really did not want. (I topped the salmon with a nice tomato and onion chutney that I threw together…came out beautifully!)

  3. I adore cookbooks, and I have way too many of them. Even though I’m not vegetarian any more, my go-to favorite is The Accidental Vegan by Devra Gartenstein. It’s all about fresh, healthy ingredients combined in awesome, multi-ethnic ways, and most are easy to prepare. She also has a nice blog called The Quirky Gourmet. http://www.quirkygourmet.com/

Leave a Reply

