Romancing the Breakfast

Today is a big day in the romance writing world – the announcement of the Golden Heart and RITA class of 2012.  It’s like the Oscars of Romance, complete with an awards ceremony to announce the winners at the national convention in July.

But wait, Abigail, you might be asking.  What does this have to do with your kitchen?  And I answer you – what do you eat for breakfast when you’re about to have a nerve-wracking day?

Doesn’t matter why your nerves are being wracked.  An interview for your dream job.  Taking the SATs.  Knowing if your manuscript or story was in the top 10 percent of all romance novels submitted that year.  You want to make sure what ever you eat isn’t going to make you feel worse.

Me, I’m having bagel and lox comfort food this morning.  (At least, that’s what I anticipate, since I’m writing this post on Sunday.  We’ll see what actually happens tomorrow.)  And maybe some diet Dr Pepper.  Because nothing goes better with a bagel and cream cheese than diet Dr Pepper.

On a completely unrelated side note, I once read a book that took place in Boston, my hometown.  A character there ordered grits at a restaurant, because there’s never a wrong time to eat grits.  I had never even HEARD of grits until I moved to Florida.  So, there may never be a wrong time, but there’s certainly a wrong place!

Anyway, I asked other folks what they’re going to have on this nerve-wracking day, and there was a common theme:  chocolate or too nervous to eat.  I don’t recommend that for myself – doing the sugar thing that early would make me sick, and I have a hard time focusing when I’m hungry.  I recommend something bland, like oatmeal.  Maybe put some fruit in it for an extra vitamin kick.

What’s going on in your world this morning?  Are you waiting for the phone to ring?  Or did it ring for you already???  Got an interview coming or a big test?  What are you going to have for breakfast?

Comments today will also be entered into the drawing for the cookbook from the previous post.  🙂

8 thoughts on “Romancing the Breakfast

  1. I don’t have a horse in the race this year, but I’m excited for all my friends who have entered. I have had my usual boring bowl of cereal and now I’ve got some flavored tea. Am sitting in a chatroom, on twitter and have the announcement blogs up to refresh madly.

  2. You know, I didn’t think about it ’til just now, but I had my usual breakfast: two fried eggs and a slice of cheese. (Today’s cheese was mozzarella, because I happened to find it sliced in the store, and as it turns out, mozzarella has fewer calories than American or Swiss.) Oatmeal’s not a bad idea, though, because right now those eggs are partying along with the nervous knots in my stomach.

    Does it cound if I’m also chewing my nails? 🙂 Not eating, mind you, but I suspect by noon there’ll be stubs where my fingertips used to be.

    Good luck to all the entrants, and may the odds be ever in your favor! 🙂

    • Chewing your nails does NOT count! 🙂

      I was at a tech writing conference last week and had eggs for the complimentary breakfast four days in a row. I was done with that by the time I came home.

  3. I woke later than usual…because I took the day off work. Started with my usual coffee with Splenda. Haven’t eaten anything else but am about to. Think I’ll have Peach Oatmeal. My local critique group (The Quinners) is coming over this morning and I’ve got coffee cake and peach tea ready. AND, one of my Quinners FINALED…but it’s her news to announce so…stay tuned!

    • I DID stay tuned!! YAY JAN!!

      I’m not a big fan of tea but peach tea sounds pretty good.

      Course, I always say that, and I try it, and I go, what was I thinking? The tea might taste good, but I’m not a fan of the aftertaste.

Leave a Reply

