Guest Chick Susan C. Muller and Mamacita’s Chicken Mole

I love when we invite guest chicks over and they don’t cook!  laugh  Susan Muller is one of those non-cooking individuals but we wanted to have her guest anyway.  She lives in Spring, Texas and can be found often at her computer, but seldom in her kitchen.  Her book The Secrets on Forest Bend is available now, and you can follow her at www.susancmuller.com.  She’s got an excerpt below, but beware the slightly salty language – and no, it doesn’t take place in the kitchen.  🙂

Take it away, Susan!

Chick in the Kitchen

Hi everyone.  I was so excited when Abigail invited me to join you at Chicks in the Kitchen. However, I was a little worried also.

I hate to admit this in public, but I’m not known for my cooking. In fact, at my house, the smoke alarm was known as the dinner bell. To this day, my kids refuse to eat anything labeled “blackened” at a restaurant, even though I’ve explained it’s a legitimate cooking term.

I come by it honestly. I can remember my mother setting a plate on the table containing charcoal briquettes that had started life as biscuits. “Some people serve these things half raw,” she declared.

In my novel, The Secrets on Forest Bend, Adam Campbell can whip up a killer pot of chili, and twice a summer he makes a brisket that cooks all day and lasts all week. Other than that, he lives off of TV dinners.  His partner, Ruben is recovering from a ruptured appendix and has moved home with his mother while he recovers.

In this scene, Adam is angling for an invitation to dinner.

The Secrets on  Forest Bend

“Hey, buddy. Que pasa? How’s your scar look? Will the ladies be impressed with your bravery?”

“It’s not as big as I’d hoped. I’ll tell them I was in a knife fight. There’s some truth to that. The doc had a knife, and I put up a fight. How’s it going there? You miss me yet?”

“Only because you’re better at deciphering a paper trail. I have to run all over town chasing down a gun with a history as long as my dick.”

“That short, huh?” Ruben chuckled. “Quit bellyaching and get to work. I don’t want to find a big stack of open cases waiting on my desk when I get back.”

“It looks like I’m not going to have time to stop by today. Take it easy and do what Mamacita says.”

“Come for supper tomorrow night. I think she’s making chicken mole.”

“You don’t have to ask me twice.” Adam’s mouth started watering at the thought of Mamacita’s chicken mole.

“I usually don’t have to ask once. Anyway, having you here will keep her off my back for an hour or two. I think she likes you more than me.”

“Most people do, compadre. Most people do.”

Here is the recipe for Chicken Mole

1 cut-up chicken
4 cloves garlic, minced
1 tbsp. salt
1tsp. pepper

Put chicken in a large pot and cover with water. Add garlic, salt and pepper. Boil until chicken is done, about 45 minutes. Remove chicken and reserve 1 cup broth for gravy.

Mole Gravy

½ c. oil
½ c. flour
¼ c. chili powder
1 c. chicken broth
2 chicken bouillon cubes
1 tbsp. peanut butter
2 tsp salt

Put oil in large skillet on medium heat. Add flour a little at a time and brown, about 1 minute. Remove from stove and stir in chili powder. Dissolve bouillon cubes in broth. Put skillet back on stove and stir in broth. Add peanut butter and salt and mix with hand mixer. Bring to boil, lower heat and simmer 30 minutes, stirring often. Add chicken for 10 or 15 minutes.

This is the accepted recipe for chicken mole, but it’s not Mamacita’s. She adds a secret ingredient that she doesn’t even tell her daughter’s-in-law about.

Ssssh, don’t tell anyone.  She adds one or two Hershey’s Kisses. That makes all the difference. Try it, you’ll see.

Peanut butter?  And CHOCOLATE?   What could be better?  Tell me Chicklet readers!  Do you have surprise secret ingredients in any of your recipes?

Chicken Mole
Recipe Type: Traditional
Cuisine: Main Dish
Author: Susan C. Muller | Chicklets in the Kitchen
Serves: 4
Ingredients
  • CHICKEN MOLE
  • 1 cut-up chicken
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tbsp. salt
  • 1tsp. pepper
  • MOLE GRAVY
  • ½ c. oil
  • ½ c. flour
  • ¼ c. chili powder
  • 1 c. chicken broth
  • 2 chicken bouillon cubes
  • 1 tbsp. peanut butter
  • 2 tsp salt
Instructions
  1. Put chicken in a large pot and cover with water. Add garlic, salt and pepper. Boil until chicken is done, about 45 minutes. Remove chicken and reserve 1 cup broth for gravy.
  2. Put oil in large skillet on medium heat. Add flour a little at a time and brown, about 1 minute. Remove from stove and stir in chili powder. Dissolve bouillon cubes in broth. Put skillet back on stove and stir in broth. Add peanut butter and salt and mix with hand mixer. Bring to boil, lower heat and simmer 30 minutes, stirring often. Add chicken for 10 or 15 minutes.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “Guest Chick Susan C. Muller and Mamacita’s Chicken Mole

  1. Hrm… depending on the consistency, I might be saving the rest of that cooking broth as, well… broth! You have to strain it, but if it is relatively clear of “stuff” it is certainly worth saving in a sealable container. Skim off the oil on top, freeze it for later, and when it comes time to make something like this again (or anything else that needs a bit of flavor in the water) you can use this broth instead.

  2. Geez, Jon, you’re faster than me with the comments today! *laugh* You’ll have to do a report on the broth. Rice flavored with peanut butter and chocolate? And chili powder? I’m not too sure about that.

    Susan, thanks for your insight into your character’s kitchen. And for the delicious-sounding recipe. That may or may not make a good broth. 🙂

    • The chocolate acts as a flavor enhancer, and doesn’t really add that much sweetness to the dish. You can also use 70-80% cacao and get the same effect. In this case it will act very much like salt does, bringing out the flavors of the other ingredients.

  3. Mmmm…good! If you’ve never tasted Chicken Mole (pronounced moe-lay’) before, you’ve absolutely got to try this. Here in Texas, it’s a standard dish–and it’s not spicy-hot. Susan’s recipe is classic. I’ve seen Mole seasoning on the grocery shelves but I’ve always used my m-i-l’s recipe so haven’t tried the store bought stuff. If there’s no peanut butter in the recipe, it isn’t Mole.

    And, I’ve read Susan’s books. They’re true page turners. She’s also got a novella out called Redeeming Santa. When you can write like Susan, who needs to cook? LOL!

  4. Hi Abigal and Jon. this recipe comes from my neighbor’s mother, and the Hershey’s Kisses are her secret ingredient, although many recipes already have the chocolate in them. I have eaten this at my neighbor’s house several times and loved it. When I needed something for Mamacita to cook, I immediately thought of Chicken Mole.

    And I loved how, in the book, Mamacita tells Jillian the recipe, but wouldn’t tell it to her d-i-l’s.

Leave a Reply

