A Different Idea for Salad

Please welcome my guest Chicklet, Noelle Pierce! We met in the Romance’s Biggest Winner group, where teams work together to try to lose the most weight. Every week we report our success (or our gains) and have a great time encouraging each other! Noelle recently posted a fantastic salad recipe with us and I asked if she’d share it with the Chicklets. With summer not far away, doesn’t this sound delish?!

I love salads, more out of necessity than true love for rabbit food. I started eating salads last year, and got into the habit of eating at least one a day for either lunch or dinner, sometimes both. However, they weren’t as healthy as possible, because I LURVE those creamy dressings, and the fat-free versions of my honey mustard and cucumber ranch just weren’t cutting it. I tried the spritzes, but those only succeeded in making the lettuce taste gross, to me. Late last year, I accidentally discovered something: I don’t really need dressing at all! It came about because I had chicken salad (store-made, so it had tons of mayo in it, I’m sure), but didn’t want to mix salad dressing with the mayo, so I just scooped it directly on my lettuce. I’ve since tried this with egg salad (made by me, so I was able to control the mayo content), and today, I did it with a bunch of other veggies. Sooooo good, and filling, too! Here’s what I did:

1-2 large tomatoes, seeded and diced (you can leave the seeds in, but I find they get a little slimy that way)
2 cucumbers, seeded and diced (same as the tomatoes)
1/2 red onion, diced (or minced if you prefer less zing in a single bite)
1 large green bell pepper
2 cups Romaine lettuce
1/2 avocado, roughly chopped (optional–adds 120 calories, if you’re watching that)
1 hard-boiled egg, yolk removed, roughly chopped
Take the tomatoes, cucumbers, onion, and pepper and toss in a bowl with approximately 1.5 tablespoons salt. You can use less, if you want, but it might not yield as much juice. Store in refrigerator for at least two hours. When you’re ready to eat, place the lettuce in a deep bowl, then top with egg, avocado, and half the pre-made veggie mix. Toss together and enjoy!
MyFitnessPal says this meal yields (with avocado):
Calories – 229
Carbs – 28
Fat – 12
Protein – 8
If you leave the avocado off, it’s 109 calories, 21 carbs, 1 fat, 7 protein
x♥x
Noelle
This entry was posted in Carla by carlakempert. Bookmark the permalink.

About carlakempert

Fiction Writer wannabe; mom of 2 boys (one teenager, one with autism); addicted crocheter/knitter; BIG fan of the iPod and the Philadelphia Phillies. Ask me about my camera, too. Or better yet, say cheese!

3 thoughts on “A Different Idea for Salad

  1. Noelle, you got it spot on with the need for protein! Before I was nutritionally educated, I’d be hungry an hour after eating a salad – all for the lack of protein.

    Thanks for the idea of using salt to create the dressing. I’ve got to try this. Nice to have you on Chicklets!

    • Thanks, Abigail! Yeah, I had the same problem with salads, but since I started adding *some* kind of protein, it’s been much better. And I can eat a huge salad, which helps, because the lettuce and veggies aren’t high in calorie, so I feel like I’m eating a ton.

Leave a Reply

