Grillin’ & Chillin’

It’s almost that time again: summer, the season for sitting in the back yard, drinking a cold one (of your choice), listening to baseball on the radio, and overcooking your burgers.

Well, yours. I don’t eat meat.

There’s so much great veggie stuff to make on the grill. First on the list: corn. Know the secret to grilling corn on the cob? Clean off just enough of the husk to make it neat, trim the silks, and then drop the whole cob in a bucket of water and let it soak for a few hours. You won’t burn the corn on the grill. Well, unless you get so into the ball game or watching the big puffy clouds that you stop paying attention to the grill.

I have a stir-grill…you know what? I still don’t know what it’s called. It’s a ceramic basket-style thing that I spray with olive oil and toss in a bunch of veggies. When I need it, I ask the kids to “bring me the thingie”. Picked it up in Wegmans and it’s worth its weight in gold. Chop up some onions, peppers, eggplant, carrots, mushrooms, and stir ’em up with some seasoning. Mmm!

And who doesn’t like kabobs? SO easy to make! Mushrooms, cherry tomatoes, eggplant chunks, onions, potatoes; you name it, you can spear it! And yeah, okay, our local supermarket has some brilliant salmon kabobs. (I’m so weak.)

Oh yeah, bring on the boys of summer and all that food!

 

4 thoughts on “Grillin’ & Chillin’

  1. I just saw the Alton Brown episode on kabobs…. highly recommended!

    One thing he made a big deal about was to both sort your pieces by size, keeping like sized bits on the same kabob, and also to only cook one ingredient per kabob (i.e. all of your zucchini bits on one skewer, all of your artichoke hearts on another, etc.)

    This will help ensure that all of your bits are cooked evenly.

    He also had a brilliant method for skewering pineapple for a dessert dish, but I’m not going to go into that. 🙂

    • Very good point about the sizes. I’ve had that happen before where the cherry tomato was burnt to a crisp but the beef square was bloody. Blech.

      I have to disagree about all one item per skewer; I like when the tastes blend a bit. Nothing like a beef square with onion flavor seeping through it!

      Mmm, artichoke hearts! I can eat them out of the jar like candy. 🙂 Thanks for visiting, Jon!

  2. Hey Carla – I have one of those thingys too. I love it. I got it late last year, so it didn’t get a lot of use, but nothing like grilled veggies.

    I had my dh grill some peaches last year too. He thought I was crazy. They were amazing.

    I love having tuna steak just off the grill. Yum.

  3. Pingback: Traditional kabobs | Usedguitarsonl

Leave a Reply

