Pot Luck Fail

The other day I had dinner guests, and I made the Tuna Noodleriffic.  I told my guests what I would be serving, and they brought food, too.

My first guest arrived and said she didn’t eat tuna.

My second guest arrived and said she didn’t eat noodles.

My third guest arrived and had been so stressed that she wasn’t eating anything.

*sigh*

Thankfully, my fourth guest and I ate, as well as the Things.  And the Things were happy there were ton of leftovers.

I know that if I’m invited somewhere and I don’t like the entree being served, I’d probably keep my mouth shut, too.  But MAN I wish they would have told me.  I could have made something else.  At least for the ladies were were eating.

Today at work we had a Cinco de Mayo Pot Luck to raise money for the March of Dimes.  I made cornbread, and everyone loved it.  And asked for the recipe.

Yeah.  I made it from a mix.  But at least they liked it!

So, what do you do?  Do you keep it to yourself if you don’t like something?  Bring a dish you do like so you know there’ll be something for you to eat?  Pretend to eat and move the food around on your plate?

Comment through the weekend for a chance to win Potluck – Parables of Giving, Taking, and Belonging by Kim Thomas.

9 thoughts on “Pot Luck Fail

  1. I eat what’s served. Unless it’s a true potluck. I’ve had friends and relatives fuss about what to serve but I tell them, on my diet, I can eat anything, I just have to count the calories or cut back on portions. So usually there’s a green salad I can fill my plate with.

    My mom cooked one thing. You ate or you didn’t.

  2. I’m another eat what’s served and log calories/known ingredients. [I’m using the Calorie Count program and it tracks nutrients/carbs/fats, etc. in addition to the calories.] I’m an Air Force brat and my circle of friends is truly international, so I have a tendency to at least try things I’m unfamiliar with so I can experience new flavors or combinations.

    It’s different if someone has a food allergy or health condition. One of my friends can’t eat certain foods, but we know that in advance and try to have things she CAN eat on the menu. If it’s a true potluck, she brings a dish that’s safe for her.

    • I didn’t think to ask the one with issues if the noodles would be a problem. Lesson learned for next time!

      I’ve gotten a lot more adventurous trying foods from different cultures. As long as it doesn’t involve eyes or brains. Ick.

  3. Yep… I am in the eat what’s served category as well (also an Air Force brat, plus time served in the Navy).

    When I am cooking for a group of people, if I don’t know the players that well, I simply ask about dietary restrictions, etc. The group that I usually cook for has an assortment of allergies (gluten is the most common) and I pretty much always keep the menu I create kosher just to avoid that problem from the start.

    • Um… you probably mean kosher for Passover? Because I’m fairly certain there’s no gluten kosher law.

      What group do you usually cook for? I was thinking it was Guilders, but you’ve done mac and cheese before.

Leave a Reply

