Taste-Tested, Ex-Approved Crustless Spinach Quiche

Somewhere in my travels, I found a recipe for crustless spinach quiche. As a vegetarian and an Atkins grad, this was right up my alley so I stocked up on the ingredients and gave it a whirl.

Oh. My. Goodness. Fantabulous. The only problem I had was, there wasn’t enough. If left to my own devices, I could have a slice of that for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Cut into six slices, that’s only 2 days. Not enough. Not nearly enough.

Now, my life situation is a little odd. My estranged husband came over not long after I’d made it, and being a nice person, I offered him a piece. He loved it. My bad; it meant I had to share.

I made another one last weekend. The timing couldn’t have been better, since I had three all-day meetings at work. I needed to be at my desk early so I could tackle the things I couldn’t do from 8 – 5. After I made it on Sunday, the quiche refrigerated nicely. Come Monday morning, I put a slice on a plate, microwaved it at 60% power (for my machine; no clue the wattage) for 2:22, and it tasted exactly like fresh. For three days, I had a hot breakfast ready to eat in just over 2 minutes. Perfection!

This weekend I did it again, only I made two and sent one off with my husband. He recently went full-bore on Atkins so this is perfect for him. He also won’t be mooching off mine. 🙂

The only thing I did differently was, I used a combination of cheeses:  mozzarella, cheddar and monterey jack. I also added some sliced mushrooms. I bet sliced and sauteed Portobellos would be killer awesome, but I only had so much energy so I peeled open a can. 🙂

Seriously, try it. Vegetarian or not, it’s incredible.

3 thoughts on “Taste-Tested, Ex-Approved Crustless Spinach Quiche

  1. Pingback: Copycats: Pudge’s Spinach Sub | Chicklets in the Kitchen

Leave a Reply

