The Magic of Salsa

The food, not the dance.  Though I’d like some magic there, too.  😉

Salsa is, like, the perfect food.  Low in calories.  Full of flavor.  Makes things taste better.

So why this sudden love affair?  I made Tuna Noodlerrific tonight, but something was missing.  I had only celery as an add-in veggie, and it was just bland.  As I dug through my fridge to see what else I had, I found The Salsa.  So I mixed it in.

It?  Was awesome.  I didn’t think I would like it as much as I did, but YUM.

So have you ever combined foods that hadn’t been combined before?  Been pleasantly surprised by the results?  Or repulsed?

14 thoughts on “The Magic of Salsa

  1. Well….

    OK, this is not really something that I suddenly came across one day or anything, but I know that whenever I mention it to anyone, they get that odd look in their eye that tells me, “Jon… you crazy!”

    This is actually something that was passed down to me from my father, though where the heck he learned about it is completely beyond me. It is this:

    – One bowl/cup of New England Clam Chowder (I usually keep a couple of cans of Campbell’s in the cupboard for emergencies, emergencies being defined as “I don’t really want to cook tonight”)
    – One or two PB&J sandwiches.

    Eat the soup, dunk the sandwiches in the soup. Yeah… I know what you are thinking… GROSS! Well, don’t knock it till you’ve tried it, thank you very much!

    Now, obviously if you don’t like clam chowder or PB&J in the first place, this is not going to work for you. However, there are possibilities for substitution here… on the soup side, pretty much any thick soup will work… a good thick tomato soup, or cream of anything, will simply work… though it might create some really odd taste combinations. The reason I say thick soups is that, well, yes I have tried it with things like chicken noodle soup, and all it does is make the bread really really soggy. You need a soup that will cling to the bread, not necessarily soak into it so badly that it simply falls apart.

    On the sandwich side, stick to spreadable things in the sandwich… you need that cohesion. This would simply not work with an MLT (come on, I know SOME of you will get the reference!) or a big hoagie from Subway.

    • Okay, now, I do dip my grilled cheese in tomato soup, but… I can’t fathom peanut butter and jelly in clam chowder. Jon… you crazy!

      And I like my mutton nice and lean. And the tomato ripe.

      • My grilled cheese sandwiches come sprinkled with garlic salt and with a dill pickle side, and are often served with tomato soup if anyone wants to dip them.

        My husband’s family, however, smears jelly on their grilled cheese sandwiches. I can’t even eat at the same table when they do that, and it’s NOT allowed in my house.

        My brother-in-law, the original picky eater, dips his grilled cheese sandwiches in maple syrup. That’s not allowed at my house, either.

      • Speaking of jelly… I also do this:

        2 pieces of toast, dry, with jelly (actually jam) spread on them.
        2 fried eggs on top.

        Devour. Have a happy tummy for breakfast.

        (You can also substitute the jam with a slice of american cheese, since it melts so nicely.)

      • They totally smear the jelly on afterwards, at the table, while I’m frantically searching for the garlic salt and trying not to gag.

  2. One other item that I just thought of that I did, in fact, come up with on my own.

    It was for a small-scale “iron chef” thing I did, where one ingredient was chosen, and we had to bring a dish featuring that ingredient. The ingredient in question this time around was honey, and I made a cheesecake where, instead of the sugar that is normally used, I substituted 2/3rd’s by volume with honey. (This is actually a common rule for something if you want to replace the sugar with honey… use 2/3 volume honey and it is pretty much equivalent.)

    The cheesecake actually came out pretty well, though if I were to do it again I would look for the mildest honey available, as that taste will permeate the dish.

  3. I’ll admit to LOVING the infamous Stephanie Plum sandwich of white bread, peanut butter, green olives, and potato chips. I’ve also recently tried substituting dill pickles for the olives, as recommended by my son’s statistics teacher, but that just didn’t have enough kick to it. The Plum sandwich is a great snack when you’re craving salt and don’t want to down an entire bag of chips.

    • Aside from the fact that I HATE olives with the passion of a thousand burning suns, …. okay, I was going to say that peanut butter and chips sound kinda gross, but now that I’m thinking about it, it sounds pretty good.

      Still don’t know if I’m going to try it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

