Gluten-Free Girl Takes on an American Classic

Happy Anniversary, Chicks! Okay, well it’s really my anniversary on Chicklets but I thought it was worthy of celebration. So for my first anniversary, I wanted to make a dish that’s classic but completely and surprisingly Gluten-Free.

I spent the month of May thinking about it while revising my manuscript and came up with it–Chicken Pot Pie. Not an easy thing to do, right? WRONG! This recipe is so easy, you won’t believe you hadn’t done it before.

So here it goes…

Gluten-Free Chicken Pot Pie

4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts

10 oz of Gluten-Free Cream of Mushroom* Soup

1 1/2 C of frozen mixed vegetables, thawed

1 Gluten-Free frozen pie crust

1 C Gluten-Free Bisquick

1/2 C Milk

1 Large egg

Preheat oven to 325 degrees Farenheit then bake frozen empty pie crust for 20 minutes.

While the crust is baking, saute chicken pieces in a skillet. I prefer to use a little butter and a lot of Monterey Chicken Spice to give the chicken a little kick in the pie. πŸ™‚ Once chicken is cooked, mix it with the soup and the thawed vegetables in a large bowl.

Next mix the cup of Gluten-Free Bisquick, 1/2 cup of milk and the egg in a medium bowl.

Remove pie shell from oven, fill with chicken and vegetable mix. Spread Bisquick mix over the top.

Bake pie at 450 degrees for 25 minutes or until the top is a nice golden brown.

Serves four to six people.

I went to grab my camera to take a photo but my family had already served themselves. So, here’s half of what the pie looked like. πŸ™‚

Enjoy. And thanks for staying with this Gluten-Free Chick for the last year!

8 thoughts on “Gluten-Free Girl Takes on an American Classic

  1. Yay for being here a year! I can’t believe you remember your first time here. Crazy!

    I LOVE doughy pot-pie/biscuits/dumplings/yummy things like that. I didn’t know bisquick made a gluten-free mix. I’ll have to try that the next time I make pancakes and you’re around. πŸ™‚

  2. Um…ANAHEIM! πŸ™‚

    Here’s something surprising. My kids prefer the Gluten-Free Bisquick pancakes and waffles even when offered regular flour-based ones! So you know it’s good. πŸ™‚

  3. Darling, that looks simply mahvelous! We’re thinking Jimmie probably needs to go gluten-free and don’t know where to start. I suppose I need to do some research to find out what to look for on labels. Do the ingredient lists actually say “gluten” on them if it’s in it?

    • Most labels won’t say if there’s gluten in the product but will advertise if it’s gluten-free.

      Here are some tips.
      1. Wheat (the base of the most common type of flour) is gluten
      2. Barley (used for coloring) is gluten
      3. Rye is gluten
      4. Read the labels on soy sauce. Most have wheat as the first ingredient but some are starting to produce gluten-free soy sauces and advertise them as such.
      5. There are websites devoted to Celiac Disease (which I don’t have) and gluten-intolerance (which I do have) that you can check to learn more about which products are best.

      As with any new diet, talk with your doctor. Make sure she knows because a common problem folks face is that their cholesterol rises after going gluten-free. Usually, it’s because they eat more french fries and don’t increase their intake of fresh fruits and vegetables.

Leave a Reply

