Accidental Salad

Did you know that Buffalo wings and Cobb Salad were both invented by accident? It’s true. Someone needed to come up with a quick meal on the fly, so they dug in the ‘fridge to use what they had. See also: resourcefulness. ๐Ÿ™‚ The story ofย Anchor Barย Buffalo Wings is just awesome, IMO; click the link to read on. I’ve been there and no matter where else you go, no matter what anyone tells you, it doesn’t get better than the original. (Though this vegetarian will confess, The Distillery in Rochester comes damn close. If I ever slip off the veg lifestyle, it’ll be because someone offered me Distillery wings. Try the mild sauce and you can thank me later.)

Okay, now that I’m drooling, let me tell you about the Accidental Salad I discovered on Sunday night.

It’s warm here in the Philly ‘burbs for Memorial Day weekend, which means the last thing I wanted to do was cook. It’s also the end of the month and payday is the 31st, so things in the kitchen are kinda lean, but one thing I happened to have in the ‘fridge was eggs. That made me think of hard boiled eggs, so I made 6. (If you put a dash of salt in the water, the shells won’t crack. Did you know that? Now you do.)

When I put them in the ‘fridge to cool, I noticed the roma tomatoes I bought last week. Wouldn’t that taste good mixed with hard boiled eggs? Then I noticed I had stuffed green olives, and feta cheese, and half a jar of mayo. Add some spices and voila! Carla’s very own Accidental Power Salad. I mean, what in that salad doesn’t say “energy”? ๐Ÿ™‚ If you want a neatened-up version of the recipe, here goes:

Carla’s Accidental Power Salad

Four hard boiled eggs, cooled and diced

1 tomato, diced (drained if you wish, but I left the juice in there and while it liquified the egg yolks, it also tasted good; never say no to veggie vitamins)

2-3 tbsp small stuffed olives, diced

2 tbsp feta cheese, crumbled (but chunks are okay)

a dash of seasoned salt, onion powder, pepper

2 tbsp mayonnaise

Mix and enjoy! And good luck trying to keep leftovers in the ‘fridge. I had planned to have the rest for lunch the next day. Good thing I’m okay with a “lite lunch”. :-/

11 thoughts on “Accidental Salad

  1. You had me until you said olives. And feta. YUCK. ๐Ÿ™‚ Though I will admit yesterday I had something with feta cheese and it wasn’t all that bad. But you’ll never get me on the olive train.

    Coincidentally, I read an article Sunday about the invention of the Cobb salad. And it took me a long time to realize the Buffalo in the wings came from New York, not the animal.

    • Yeah, have to agree with you on the olive front there, Abigail. It is an acquired taste, one that I never bothered to acquire. I know my parents learned to love them by picking them off of olive trees in Italy in the 60’s when they were hitchhiking across Europe.

      Feta cheese is not as big a deal for me. I don’t necessarily go out of my way for it, but it doesn’t bother me.

    • Hey, olives are good for you, not to mention they can be fun. I taught my oldest to love them by putting a pitted black olive on each of his little fingers (he was 3 at the time) and telling him he could eat them off his fingers. Since then, if I open a can of olives, he comes running like the cat, who thinks I’m opening cat food. He loves his pizza with black olives to this day.

      I used to love green olives because I sucked the pimentos out first. Even now, I’ll nibble on a couple of them just to get rid of a case of the munchies. Works every time, especially if I’m craving something salty.

      Of course, I’m also an adventurous eater. My dad told me I have to at least TRY things before I can say I don’t like them, and at this point I think the only thing I don’t like is calimari. It tasted like a small rubber band and chewed just as easily. He still regrets the day he introduced me to shrimp and lobster. So does every guy I’ve ever dated. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • I’ve tried them! And I eat lots of thing, INCLUDING calamari, thank you very much. ๐Ÿ™‚ But if I don’t like ’em, I’m not eating them. And you can’t make me! ๐Ÿ™‚

      • See, there you go. As long as you *try*. ๐Ÿ™‚ My dad pointed out that to decide you don’t like it before you try it means you’re prejudice, and I made a point from then on to try anything someone offers me. (Except, you know, illegal stuff.) I even tried okra. Can’t say I’d go out of my way to get more of that, but I tried it.

        I still think that was the best part of moving out and living on my own. I could eat Frosted Flakes for dinner if I wanted. And I did. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Yeah, our whole family is all about the olives ๐Ÿ™‚ Except my husband… he likes the flavor when it’s cooked into something (like arroz con pollo) but won’t eat them by themselves.

        That salad looks SO GOOD! Mmm….

  2. I have eaten the Cobb salad as produced by the Brown Derby replica in Hollywood Studios (part of the Disney World omniplex) and while it was good, I felt that the Cobb salad over at Wolfgang Puck’s in Downtown Disney was a better salad. Something to do with how the lettuce is chopped, I think.

    As for wings, there is still some amount of debate over the true origins of Buffalo Wings, but Alton Brown does back up the origins of the housewife looking for something to feed a bunch of sports enthusiasts in front of a television (we won’t go into the obvious feminist overtones of those actions here (suffice to say, she was doing the RIGHT THING, darn it! ๐Ÿ™‚ (you know, smileys just don’t work too well within parenthetical clauses)))

    Alton Brown has an episode devoted specifically to Buffalo Wings and how to do them at home where you typically don’t have a commercial grade deep fat fryer, but the important thing that I wanted to mention here is the sauce he quoted for being the original was apparently nothing more than a mixture of bottle hot-sauce (Frank’s Red Hot, if my memory is perfectly clear of the rumours I remember) and margarine. That’s it. Yeah… not a sauce recipe *I* would use… ever. Because I don’t buy margarine. Ever. Butter is good, darn it! The Two Fat Ladies CAN’T BE WRONG! ๐Ÿ™‚

    I think I sort of lost my way in this reply, but so be it.

      • Heh… I couldn’t resist… sometimes I just go on a total anti-feminist rampage to see what kind of trouble I can stir up. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Actually, she wasn’t a housewife; she was a restaurant owner looking to serve something to her son’s friends. If I recall, the son now runs the restaurant.

        I’m told that’s the key secret to good wings, to roll them in butter (margerine? blech) before applying the sauce. DO NOT bread the wings. (double blech) Breaded means they’re not authentic, and they’re also carb-laden, whereas without the breading, they’re the perfect Atkins/South Beach fare on football Sundays. ๐Ÿ™‚

        I have to try out this no-fry version. Popping those suckers in the Fry Daddy is a total PITA to clean up.

        Why oh why do I have to live 5 hours from the Distillery…? ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Leave a Reply

