Gluten-Free Girl Takes on Camp NaNo

I’m a romance writer, but I’m also Gluten-Free. You wouldn’t think one has anything to do with the other, would you?

Except that this month, I’m doing Camp NaNo. Some of the LaLaLas (my critique/writing group) decided we’d do it together. We just didn’t realize that we couldn’t all fit in the same virtual cabin. So, we came up with our own chat room and we do our nightly sprints there.

It’s great. Our “campsite” is international and crosses several time zones. Because of the time issue, I’m usually kicking off the nightly sprints when I should be eating dinner.

Now, don’t frown at me. 😦 I make sure to feed my children before I start sprinting, it’s feeding myself that’s the issue. For the boys, I can toss in a couple of frozen dinners from Wally World and they’re happy. My dinner is a bit harder.

I seriously need to go to Wegman’s or Giant. In my small town, they’re the only two stores within 25 miles that carry a significant supply of TASTY (you know my rule) gluten-free products. But there are other ways to get around going to the better grocers.

  1. Fresh fruit…Strawberries, blueberries and bananas are still cheap. Plus, you can make them into smoothies on a hot day! πŸ™‚
  2. Yogurt…my doctor said as a gluten-free girl, I should have my bifidus regularis everyday.

  3. Gluten-free crackers…some are pretty yummy and an alternative to potato chips

  4. Freeze-dried fruit…(not to be mistaken for dried, sugared fruit) offer healthy alternatives to junk food.

  5. Herbal iced tea…strawberry lemonade/blueberry bliss from Teavana. Just sayin’. πŸ˜€

  6. Deli meats and cheeses…you can roll them up and eat plain or put them on gluten-free bread. Heck, you can even make them in the morning, so you can grab them out when you’re on a writing roll and can’t stop for more than a few minutes.

  7. Chocolate…okay, technically not a healthy food. But some chocolate is gluten-free and let’s face it, when you hit your word or page goal, a little reward is a great thing. πŸ˜‰

  8. Gluten-Free Mac & Cheese…this quick side dish is easy to prepare and filling.

  9. Fruity Pebbles Treats… this was from one of my first posts but still a goodie worth having on hand.

  10. Finally, leftovers are the best when doing writing sprints. Pop a plate of yesterday’s lasagna in the microwave and about a minute later, you have a hot, gluten-free meal worth salivating over!

Can you think of a GF item that’s easy to make and eat between writing sprints?

As always, happy eating! πŸ™‚

5 thoughts on “Gluten-Free Girl Takes on Camp NaNo

  1. I don’t have to worry about feeding the fam before the sprints since we usually eat around 6pm. At least, we try to. πŸ™‚ And for the days I know dinner will be later, I crock pot it or do the leftover thing.

    I’m so much help, I know. πŸ™‚

    • Well, my family eats well. My husband feeds the boys when the writing takes over. Let’s face, he’s more likely to make dinner than I am. πŸ™‚

      But, I’m usually the one who’s skipping out dinner. πŸ™‚

  2. This is probably a silly question, but are nuts gluten-free? I sometimes get into trouble, snacking on cashews like popcorn, forgetting that yes, they’re high in fat but it’s good fat. (It’s not like I’m free-basing butter.) I wash out the cups from Jello or apple sauce, and they’re perfect for single-servings of nuts.

    • Nuts are gluten-free. It’s when they’re doused in stuff, that you have to watch out. My favorite nuts are M academia but they’re really not something you should eat daily. Darn it!

  3. Avocados! I eat them with a spoon straight out of the skin. πŸ™‚

    What about oatmeal? I make a serving in the microwave and put a touch of brown sugar and milk on it. If I’ve got fresh or frozen blueberries I skip the brown sugar, throw in a handful, and put a packet of stevia on it.

    Another quickie is an egg sandwich. It only takes a couple of minutes and the punch of protein is food for your brain. Or have some hard boiled eggs in the fridge and ready to go.

    Pasta salads are always a quick go-to. Add a little meat like cubed salami and it’s a meal. πŸ™‚

    Happy writing, Mary!

Leave a Reply

