Gluten-Free Girl and the Sandwich

I miss bread. It’s been a year since I went gluten-free. For the most part, it’s been a wonderful experience. I’m no longer wracked with massive stomach aches after every meal. For the first time in my life, I’m my target weight. And I’m generally happier (because I’m not in abdominal pain all the time.)

But I REALLY miss bread.

And let’s face it, rice bread just isn’t the same. Don’t get me wrong, there are good breads out there, especially by the Schar company. In fact, they make the best Italian and French loaves I’ve ever tasted!

Still, the bread I’m talking about is sandwich bread. See, I’m in the middle of the NaNoWriMo Summer Camp. As I race to finish my book in 30 days, there are times when I just want to grab something quick for lunch. My kids, bless them, have offered to make me a sandwich from time to time but that doesn’t work.

And a girl gets tired of rolled up ham and cheese on a toothpick. So quite by accident, I discovered a crisp bread that’s tasty and decent substitute for sandwich bread. Best of all it’s gluten-free.

So tell me, what do you use a substitute for the foods you miss? 🙂

 

3 thoughts on “Gluten-Free Girl and the Sandwich

    • Hard candies are good for when I’m craving a moist, home-made chocolate-chip muffin. Wait! No, they’re not. I miss muffins too. 🙂

  1. I’ve found I can replace my chocolate cravings with fruit. A bowl of sliced strawberries, and I’m not even thinking Hershey’s. Tonight I grabbed a container of dried mangos and OMG, are they awesome. Way high in the sugar category, but wonderful.

    I have a bread machine, Mary, and it has some gluten-free bread recipes in it. Interested? 🙂 The only problem I’ve had with homemade bread is, the slices are huge. Even when I let it fully cool, I still can’t slice it smaller than about an inch. But warm, with a little butter on it? Mmmm!

    Abigail, isn’t it interesting that we’re both trying to replace chocolate? 🙂

Leave a Reply

