Guest – Lynn Cahoon and Barb’s Best Banana Bread

Lynn Cahoon

Yay, I’ve got Lynn Cahoon as a guest on Chicklets!  Her debut novel, The Bull Rider’s Brother, is waiting for me on my Kindle and One Lucky Commenter will win a Kindle copy, who-hoo!  Lynn is one of my Lalala Sisters.  Growing up in the middle of cowboy country, she was destined to fall in love with a tall, cool glass of water.  Now, she enjoys writing about small town America, the cowboys who ride the range, and the women who love them. Contact Lynn at her website – www.lynncahoon.wordpress.com.

Yeeeeeehaw, Lynn!  But watch out for that banana – even if it has a-peel.

I’m a big foodie.  I love watching reality television food competition shows.  Top Chef, Food Network Star, Masterchef, I adore them all.  One, because they feature people who will sacrifice for their dream.  And two, because they feature great food.

So when I started writing fiction, it was no surprise that my characters love food as much as I do.

The Bull Rider’s Brother is saying COMMENT TO WIN ME!!

My debut novel, The Bull Rider’s Brother, features four high school friends.  Well, three and a tag-along little brother. Lizzie, a single mom, learned to bake from her mom.  And so did Barb, Lizzie’s best friend.

When I was writing the second story in the Bull Rider series, Barb has a problem.  And like me, when she has a problem, she bakes.  And boy does Barb have problems in this next book.  So today I bring you Barb’s Best Banana Bread.  I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.  And my fictional characters.

Barb’s Best Banana Bread

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
Cream 1/3 cup butter, softened, with 2/3 cups of sugar.
Mash 1 to 1 ¼ cup ripe banana.  Stir into sugar mixture. Then add 1 beaten egg.

Into this mix, add the following dry ingredients:

1 ¼ cup flour
2 ¼ teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt

Don’t over mix this but make sure all the dry gets mixed into the wet.

Now comes the fun part.

Add dried cranberries, chopped walnuts, and chocolate chips.   One, two or all three – or your own favorite additions.

Pour into a greased loaf pan.  Bake for 60 minutes or until a toothpick stuck in the middle comes out clean.

Time in kitchen – 20 minutes.

Do you cook when you have problems?  Does your family know to stay away when this happens?  I know Our Lizzie’s family steers clear of her when she’s in The Zone.  Comment and you could win!

20 thoughts on “Guest – Lynn Cahoon and Barb’s Best Banana Bread

  1. Hi Lynn,

    Great recipe! I’m not eligible for the book, so I bought my own copy! Congrats on the release!

    Now to figure out the right measurements to make Barb’s Best Banana Bread Gluten-free so I can have some!

    Have a great day!

    • Good luck on the translations to Gluten Free.

      I’m doing a low carb/low gluten type of diet this week. I already want brownies.

      New mantra – I can do anything for five days….

  2. This bread looks so yummy! I’ll have to try it 🙂 I do love baking – especially when I’ve got a problem!

    I, too, am ineligible to win, so I shall head off to the e-bookstore right now! The book sounds like fun.

    Also? Picking up bananas when I get groceries later. Mmm… too long since I’ve made banana bread, and this one looks fabulous!

    • Lizzie – I hope you love the banana bread and The Bull Rider’s Brother. Barb’s story got picked up by my publisher too, so, The Bull Rider’s Manager will be available in November. Need to get busy in the kitchen and get some more recipes out there. LOL

  3. Morning Lynn, Abigail, and all the ladies here on Chicklets!
    Like Mary, I’ve already pre-purchased my copy of The Bullrider’s Brother before it came out so if you do draw my name, pass the win along to another. This story is sitting on my Kindle in the “first to be read” spot–my reward for completing Camp NaNo in June. Seriously, I can’t wait to read this story as I’m from the Great Plains state of South Dakota. After college, I moved to the awesome Cowboy state of Wyoming and we now live in Texas. Yup, rodeo is in my blood and this story sounds like a real winner. Yee-haw!

  4. Hi, Lynn!

    Congratulations on your new release! o/ It sounds like an awesome story!

    I’m so glad you came over to share this banana bread recipe. I’d been using the same one for years, but recently started experimenting with others. Mine called for a 1/2 cup of shortening, but I really wanted to reduce the fat. I can’t wait to try yours! I bet the butter gives it an awesome flavor. 🙂

  5. Yum! I have to try this. Problem being, when I get bananas in the house, they don’t last long. I have two teenage boys for whom bananas are a staple in the diet. I could buy yellow ones rather than slightly green; they won’t be around long anyway. 🙂 But I’m definitely going to try this. The boys will especially appreciate the chocolate chips, and I bet the house will smell amazing while this is baking! Thanks for sharing, and many happy sales of “The Bull Rider’s Brother”!

  6. Carla – I go through spurts where I finish all my bananas – and then others when I’ve got a lot of opportunity to make bread. Luckily banana’s freeze well for baking.

    Thanks for the good wishes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

