Bapple Bread

My youngest son Alex attends Variety Club Summer Day Camp, and at least once during the summer season, they have a bake sale. I look forward to their bake sales because all the baked goods are made fresh in the Vocational Group’s kitchen, staffed by kids of varying abilities. These kids are SO proud of their hard work, and rightfully so! I should’ve taken a picture of the beautiful cupcakes we bought, but at the time, all I could think about was how fast I could get one into my mouth.

The money goes to a very worthy cause, and Alex *loves* it when I give him some money and tell him, “Pick out what you want.” He knows how much he has to work with and he has to budget accordingly. It’s a win x 4 situation, except for the part about having to work off the goodies I’m bound to eat. 🙂

After purchasing six luscious devil’s food cupcakes and two pairs of chocolate chip cookies, he had two dollars left. Alex asked, “What can I get with $2?” and the lady running the sale said, “Well, we have these banana bread muffins.”

At first, I cringed. I’d never had banana bread before; I’m not a big banana fan. It may stem from the time my dad gave me money to get ice cream from the Mr. Softee truck and he requested I get him a Banana Boat. I said, “Hey, is it true that you are what you eat?” He was not amused. At least, not to me.

Alex bought two banana muffins and proudly gave me one. When we got home, I unwrapped it; it looked pretty good. At least, it didn’t try to bite me. I tore off a piece and it was quite hearty; it was moist and didn’t crumble apart like a saltine. Moreover,  I saw chocolate chips in there. Score!

Needless to say, the muffin didn’t last long. As I licked my fingers, I moused over to Facebook and typed one-handedly, “Why have I never tried banana bread before?” Immediately a few friends and family members responded with shocked amazement, including my cousin Cathy who offered me some family recipes to try out. Once the hot weather passes—or we get a few cool days in the summer—I’m trying these. In the mean time, however, I thought I’d share the Bapple Bread recipe that belonged to our grandmother, for those in much more temperate climes (or with central a/c) to try out. This is absolutely first on my Must Try list.

Bapple Bread

4 ripe bananas                                                        1 tbls baking powder

1 c. sugar                                                                  1 tsp salt

½ c. applesauce                                                      1 tsp vanilla

2 eggs                                                                        2 c. flour

1 tsp. baking soda

Place the bananas in a large bowl and mash with an electric mixer.  Stir in the sugar and let stand for 15 minutes.  Add the applesauce and eggs and beat well.  Add the remaining ingredients and mix thoroughly.  Pour into 3 small loaf pans that have been greased.  Bake at 350 for 30 to 40 minutes.

*All recipes can be done in large or small pans.  If recipe calls for 4 small pans use 2 large pans.  If recipe calls for 3 small pans use 1 large pan.  Large pans generally take about 1 hour to bake at 350 and Small pans take about 30 – 40 minutes at 350.

 

7 thoughts on “Bapple Bread

    • Try Lynn’s first. That’s what I’m doing. 🙂 Really, I’m going to try all of these if JUST ONCE the boys would leave bananas in the house. I must’ve bought 3 pounds of the things on Wednesday and we’re down to 4 already. My sons LOVE bananas. I’ll never deny them fruit but at this rate, I’ll have to wait to make the banana bread ’til they spend the weekend at their dad’s. Even then, I may have to hide them.

  1. How cool is that, Carla?! I wish I could buy some from your son’s camp!

    My husband’s been on a applesauce substitution kick lately. The last thing he made was brownies that turned out horrible, but after liberally dusting them with powdered sugar, son #3 loved them. :- I have a feeling this Bapple Bread recipe would turn out great! Like Abigail, I need to remember to put bananas on my list.

    • I love Variety Camp! The kids are just SO excited to see everyone go crazy over their stuff. Alex is out of camp for 4 weeks (summer school spec ed) and I’m tempted to run up there just to place an order for baked goods. Yum! And I really need to get a picture of those cupcakes. They were surreal. Hostess can stuff it; there’s nothing better than fresh, homemade buttercream frosting that looks like a giant rose.

      I tried replacing oil in a cupcake recipe with applesauce and it wasn’t half bad. You know another funny accident that happened once was, a friend came to babysit the boys and she and Alex made cupcakes, but instead of using vegetable oil, she used olive oil instead because it was all she could find. It turned out pretty good, and the cupcakes stayed moister, longer. I only use olive oil in cake mixes now.

      • I love my homemade chocolate buttercream icing and it’s so easy to do – as long as I remember to stir the cocoa with the mixer beaters a little first before turning it on. Nothing like have cocoa covering every surface in the kitchen. 😉

        Olive oil? I’ll give it a whirl!

Leave a Reply

