Guest Chicklet–Selena Fulton

I’m excited to welcome guest author, Selena Fulton here today. She’s got a new novella out with the Wild Rose Press called, NEVER LET GO. And of course, there’s a recipe inspired by the story. I’ll let her tell you all about that! Take it away, Selena!

Hi Chicklets! Thank you for having me here today. Confession time…Okay, my heroine isn’t exactly a gourmet cook, she’s a divorced career girl.

But in my novella, NEVER LET GO, the heroine goes back in time to 1864. The hero, a British scout, whips up a mess of trout using only a skillet, some oil and some spices. She thinks it’s the best fish she’s ever eaten!

In my own life, my hubby is a much better cook than I am, too. After breaking my wrist last December, he had to take over the cooking in our house, and let me tell you, our meals are tastier!

I am venturing into the kitchen again, slowly. My wrist is still so weak, holding a full coffee decanter is still impossible, but I can hold a mixer if I’m careful! So for his birthday, I made his favorite cake. He is a first generation American, his parents both emigrated from Hungary, and his favorite cake is a Dubos Torte. It is a six-layer cake with a chocolate/coffee icing that is to die for.

This cake is probably the most difficult thing I make, and I paid for it several days with an aching wrist, but it was worth the smile on his face. And I wanted to impress him, the way my hero impressed the heroine. It worked! My daughter called it Cake Heaven. Here’s the recipe.

DUBOS TORTE

The Cake

9 eggs

1 cup vanilla sugar (you can use a vanilla bean to flavor the sugar but I just add a tablespoon of vanilla extract)

1 ½ cups plus 1 tablespoon of flour

Butter

Prepare six 9-inch cake pans for baking: cut 6 circles of waxed paper to fit the bottom of the pans, grease the bottom of each one with butter, place the paper in and grease that as well. Set the pans aside until ready to use. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Beat the egg whites with a pinch of salt until foamy; continue beating until stiff peaks are formed. Set aside. Using an electric mixer, beat the egg yolks and the remaining sugar together until lemon-colored and very thick. About ¼ cup at a time, sift the flour on top of the egg yolk and sugar mixture and fold it in. mix a tablespoonful of eaten egg whites into the batter to lighten it, then gently fold in the rest of the whites. Keep a light touch throughout, handling the batter just enough to make sure it is evenly blended. Take a prepared pan and spread one-sixth of the batter on the bottom as evenly as possible.

Let the batter touch the sides of the pan at several points. Place it in the middle of the preheated oven. Bake for 10-12 minutes or until the cake hardens and begins to turn color. Remove from the pan with a spatula, invert and quickly but carefully tear off all the paper. Cool on a cake rack.

The Cream Filling

8 ounces of semisweet baking chocolate

3 tablespoons of strong coffee

1 cup of salted butter (don’t use margarine for this one)

1 cup vanilla confectioner’s sugar (you can use a vanilla bean to flavor the sugar but I just add a tablespoon of vanilla extract)

3 eggs

Melt the chocolate with the coffee over very low heat. Cream the butter with the sugar and  beat until fluffy. Add the melted chocolate and beat until it is well blended. Beat in eggs, one at a time and continue beating until the cream is light and fluffy. Keep in fridge until ready to use. I usually save the prettiest layer for the top and thinly ice the cake.

Thank you for having me here today!

7 thoughts on “Guest Chicklet–Selena Fulton

    • Thanks for having me here! It isn’t really difficult when you make it right. The first time I made it, I was a newlywed. When it called for 3 tablespoos of strong coffee, I used coffee grounds. That was in the days I made instant coffee. Needless to say, I never did THAT again!

      • OMGosh, that sounds like something I would do! I’d have to force myself to eat it though, ’cause the thought of wasting all those ingredients and time would’ve killed me. 🙂

        BTW, mega congratulations on your new release! It sounds like an intriguing tale!

  1. LOL at accidentally using coffee grounds. It sounds absolutely delish! My husband is a better cook than me too, so he cooks every night. 🙂 Great post – I really enjoyed that 😀

  2. Selena,

    Thank you again for stopping by. The bit about the coffee grounds had me chuckling. 🙂 Best of luck with your novella! Definitely, come back and visit us again!

Leave a Reply

