Kale-ing it at dinner!

Due to some recent dietary restrictions imposed by the doctor, I’ve been trying to make certain family members eat healthier. As such, I have been searching everywhere for good, healthy foods.

Kale is a superfood. Were you aware of this fact? Apparently, it is crazy healthy. It lowers cholesterol, reduces risk of some cancers, and has a ton of other benefits. [note: i am not a doctor. nor am i a nutritionist. i learned these things from the internets.]  I’ve always been hesitant about making kale, because it has a reputation for being bitter bitter bitter!

Kale!

That being said, I recently bought a salad blend chock full o’ crazy healthy greens INCLUDING chard – which is also supposed to be bitter – and it was delicious. Soooo I decided to brave the bitter. What’s the worst that could happen? If it came out bitter I just wouldn’t make it again.

So kale it was. And let me just tell you, it was crazy good. I mean beyond delicious. Who knew? It has an underlying bitterness, but it’s actually pleasant in its bitterness. I don’t even know how to explain it.

And so we (well… three of us anyway – the younger two kids did NOT like it. Though my son said that it’s better than the other kale that he’s had, which he hated. This just wasn’t his favorite) have a new veggie in the “love it!” category.

Since it’s completely delicious and non-threatening, I immediately thought about sharing the recipe with y’all!

Erm. Unfortunately, I didn’t think about it until after it was all eaten. So no pictures of the finished product, alas…

But here’s the recipe (adapted from American Diabetes Association):

  • Heat two teaspoons of sesame oil in a large pan.
  • Tdd 2 -3 cloves minced garlic, and toss for 10 seconds.
  • Add 1 large bag (16 oz) chopped kale (or if you’ve got whole kale, get about 1.5 lbs, remove the tough stems, cut into 1″-2″ pieces)  and 1/4 c chicken broth.
  • Cover and steam for 3 mins.
  • Add 1 tablespoon of lite soy sauce, 2 tsp toasted sesame seeds, a little fresh pepper.
  • Toss all together et voila. Deliciousness!

Have you discovered any amazing superfoods that you love? Anything you eat when you’re trying to be really healthy? Let me know!

14 thoughts on “Kale-ing it at dinner!

  1. I’ve had kale chips before, but I, too, have been afraid of actually cooking it. But if it has the Lizzie Stamp of Approval, I might try it. I’ve found that I kinda like the bitter.

    As for superfoods: Avocado!!! In small doses.

    • Abigail, I’m STILL trying to perfect your guacamole recipe so I can get more avocadoes into our diet here! First, I couldn’t minc the garlic well enough by hand, so I bought a mincer. Second, I broke the mincer. Third, I bought PRE-minced garlic rather than bulbs, BUT the lime was too fresh — apparently — and I wound up with guacamole that was a little on the limey side of things. Sigh…

      Btw, I have a couple of nieces who use kale as a base for green smoothies. I’m afraid to try that, though, as I can’t even get simple guacamole right. (Shakes head.)

      • Abigail’s guac is awesome to be sure, but the easiest way to get more avocado into your diet is to just cut the thing in half, pop the seed out, and eat the yummy green goodness with a spoon right out of the shell. Yummo! 😉

      • Oooo or my husband likes to take out the avocado, slice it up, toss it with a little bit of low-fat mayo and sprinkle with sea salt. That’s crazy good.

      • If you found it a little too limey, just add less lime 🙂

        One thing I’ve learned about cooking over the years: it’s a game of trial and error. Some people like things more one way and some another. Change any recipe up to how YOU like it!

        Most of my favorite recipes are things I’ve modified in some way.

      • I made the mistake of squeezing fresh lime into the guacamole without tasting as I went. I was crazy busy, as usual. I thought about adding more garlic at that point, but didn’t want to make matters even worse.

  2. I don’t think I’ve ever had kale. You made your experience with it sound so good I’m going to have to do some up! Thanks, Lizzie!

      • Okay, I totally forgot you said it had a bitterness to it. I’m giving it a go anyway, even if I have to choke it down! 😉 I need more healthy crap in my life. *laugh*

Leave a Reply

