Chocolate Banana Bread

Last week I caught up with a very good friend of mine. We’ve known each other for years. We met because of work and something about that shared misery made us laugh until we just opened up. She lives on the other side of the country and we both have busy lives so it’s been a while but last week, we reconnected. “Serendipity” at its best.

She’s not going through an easy time, and my life isn’t exactly a bowl of cherries either, but exchanging emails with her has been just like the two of us sitting in the kitchen, venting over coffee, waiting for something to bake and just being good friends.

It reminded me that kitchens aren’t just for cooking. What do YOU talk about in the kitchen?

I know in our house, the kitchen is where we all reconnect with each other. A large portion of my day is spent at the computer in the dining room, but for dinner, my sons and I get together and talk. We touch base and re-ground ourselves, clean up the table and the world goes on.

If my friend came to my house (or I went to hers), I think we’d have a great time making my cousin’s Chocolate Banana Bread recipe and talking, making each other feel like even through the weirdness, we’re normal again. It’s a healing thing.

Chocolate Banana Bread

½ c. margarine softened

1 c. sugar

2 eggs

1 c. mashed bananas (about 2)

¼ c. milk

1 tsp vanilla

2 c. flour

¼ c. baking cocoa

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp salt

½ c. nuts

In  a mixing bowl, cream butter and sugar.  Add eggs, bananas, milk and vanilla.  Combine the flour, cocoa, baking soda and salt.  Add the banana mixture to the dry ingredients mixture.  Fold in nuts if desired.  Transfer to 3 greased small loaf pans.  Bake at 350 for approx 40 minutes.

*All recipes can be done in large or small pans.  If recipe calls for 4 small pans use 2 large pans.  If recipe calls for 3 small pans use 1 large pan.  Large pans generally take about 1 hour to bake at 350 and Small pans take about 30 – 40 minutes at 350.

7 thoughts on “Chocolate Banana Bread

  1. I remember if family came to visit, we’d spend the time after dinner playing a card game called Garbage. It was combination roulette, bingo, poker, and … ack, something else. Fun times!

  2. Some of the best, funniest times of my life were spent around the kitchen table at my Grandma Betty & Grandpa Punk’s. Scrabble was the game of choice. I believe I’ve got the wordiest family on earth. Maybe that’s were my love of the dictionary first developed.

    Some of the most educational conversations are held at our family table – everything from religion vs. evolution to politics to school grades to rock ‘n roll and all other subjects of great import. 🙂

    And thank you very much, Carla! Another banana bread recipe I’m going to have to give a try!

    • You know, it’s driving me crazy that I have a small booklet of family fruit bread recipes to try, but it’s been so hot that I don’t dare turn on the oven. Sigh! I’d say I’m looking forward to winter but no, not really. 🙂 (Though it does bring hockey season with it…)

      • I keep looking for ways to make bread in the crock pot. If you come across any, send them my way! 🙂

  3. Morning ladies!

    For me my kitchen is the ‘main hub’ around here.

    For some reason not one person can stay in the livingroom or patio or bedroom! LOL!

    Everything happens in the kitchen and I mean everything. The jokes, the laughs, the fights, the card playing, the phone calls, books & magazines are always stacked there too and of course all the gossip that everyone likes happens in my kitchen.
    Who would of thought if so-and-so had the wrong laces on her gym shoes?!
    And of course the music ‘weirdness’ that happens in my kitchen………long story,
    let’s just say I’m happy with the invention of those mini ear sets.

    Even our friends and our neighbors just automatically go to the kitchen to sit and chit-chat. They just feel more comfortable sitting around the table.
    Mainly, they all come and EAT here! 😀
    I am always baking and cooking, I do LOVE to eat!! LOL!
    I’m one of those people who needs to feed anyone that walks into my house.

    Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

