Gluten-Free Girl Takes on RWA Conference

Today, I climb aboard a plane and fly across the country to #RWA12. For those not familiar with the Twitter Hashtag, that’s the 2012 conference for the Romance Writers Association. 🙂

This year, RWA made my life a little easier by announcing that all meals provided will be gluten-free. Needless to say, I cheered, “THANK YOU, RWA!”

Still, that’s not every meal. So I still need cover the rest. Now, y’all know that shopping for specific Gluten-Free food brands isn’t always easy. Every month, I have to plan three separate trips to different stores in order to buy my groceries. I’m not sure what I’ll face in Anaheim so I decided not to risk it.

This year, I mailed a box of food to myself at the hotel. Looking back, I realized it would have been cheaper to put it all in a suitcase and check it at the airport, but live and learn.

So what do you do to make sure you’ve got your food needs covered when going on a business trip?

6 thoughts on “Gluten-Free Girl Takes on RWA Conference

  1. You make me laugh, thinking about last year when I went to National. Money was tight to begin with so my options were limited, so I took someone’s advice and brought rolls and peanut butter; granola bars; breakfast bars; a couple small bags of candy (writer cannot live on granola alone) and a bottle for water. Bless my CP’s heart, I never even opened the peanut butter. She made sure I stayed fed, though I have to say, the idea of spinach and artichoke dip gives me flashbacks. 🙂

    I also pre-stocked my Starbucks card so coffee wasn’t an issue. That, I couldn’t do without.

    Otherwise, I came home 3 pounds lighter. Never mind the food; there wasn’t enough TIME to eat! I had every intention of going up to Central Park for a walk, just to say I did it, but never got there. I packed the sneakers and never took them out of the suitcase.

    Enjoy the trip, GFG!! Go get ’em!!

  2. Wow, good on RWA for that kind of planning!

    My food allergies were one of the reasons I cancelled RWA this year. It was to be my first, but along with way too expensive for me at the moment, what was I to eat?

    Since ending up in the ER on Easter Sunday, I’ve been on a severly restricted diet that doesn’t include restaurant food. Losing over 50 lbs has been incredible, but trying to eat away from home when you’re allergic to dairy, soy and all beans, nuts, eggs etc etc etc, was just not going to work for me this year.

    Oddly enough, one of the things I have no problem with is Gluten;)

    Hope you have a fabulous time!

    • Hi Kathryn,

      Actually I was happily surprised. Normally, I spend the meals trying find something I can eat. This year I had to go. It’s my chance to meet my new agent!

      As for food allergies, I know it’s tough. Even before learning I was gluten-intolerant, I had to deal with all the men in my life being allergic to red shellfish and iodine. Being from Maryland, where summer crab feasts were not a luxury but a staple, that allergy hit me hard. Still, somehow we muddle through. It takes awhile, but eventually we learned how to eat out even with all of our combined food challenges.

      Hopefully, you’ll be able to come to Atlanta next year.

  3. But you would’ve had to lug one more suitcase around with you so I say mailing the box was worth it! Plus, you can use the food box to send all the books you’re going to get back home! It seems to be a win-win to me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

